TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,134 Reviews & Articles | 39,399 News Posts

Buffalo Technology TeraStation 5400r WSS R2 8TB Storage Server Review - Packaging and Accessories

Buffalo Technology TeraStation 5400r WSS R2 8TB Storage Server Review
Buffalo elevates the TeraStation series with a new 1U, 4-bay unit running Windows Storage Server 2012 R2. Follow on as Chris gives us the full details.
| Network Storage in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Jun 5, 2014 5:05 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Buffalo Technology

Packaging

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6402_03_buffalo_technology_terastation_5400r_wss_r2_8tb_storage_server_review.png

 

On the package is a sticker that shows the configuration, package contents, and some of the specifications.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6402_04_buffalo_technology_terastation_5400r_wss_r2_8tb_storage_server_review.png

 

The server ships in a thick box, and the package is surprisingly smaller than what we expected. The NAS isn't full depth, so it didn't require a massive package to keep it secure.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6402_05_buffalo_technology_terastation_5400r_wss_r2_8tb_storage_server_review.jpg

 

Inside, we found a well-packaged server with good protection for shipping. The drive rails were in a separate box inside the package.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6402_06_buffalo_technology_terastation_5400r_wss_r2_8tb_storage_server_review.jpg

 

I prefer two inches of dense foam on all sides, but we didn't get that on the 5400r WSS. The foam on the sides is only around an inch thick, but the box is thicker than most.

 

 

Accessories

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6402_07_buffalo_technology_terastation_5400r_wss_r2_8tb_storage_server_review.jpg

 

Inside, we found four paper manuals and instruction sheets.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6402_08_buffalo_technology_terastation_5400r_wss_r2_8tb_storage_server_review.jpg

 

The server ships with cage nuts, screws, one Ethernet cable, a power cable, a reusable zip tie, and a USB flash drive and system restore flash-based media.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6402_09_buffalo_technology_terastation_5400r_wss_r2_8tb_storage_server_review.jpg

 

Rack rails are also included and shouldn't be over looked. Many NAS products ship without rails, and the manufacturer sells them as an add-on. We've never really liked the 'add-on' approach since you can't rack a server without them in a graceful manner, and $150+ seems a bit much for an add-on accessory that is a necessity.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases