TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,095 Reviews & Articles | 39,129 News Posts

Vantec NexStar Wi-Fi External HDD Enclosure Review

Vantec NexStar Wi-Fi External HDD Enclosure Review
Vantec is well known for its range of NexStar external storage devices, but now they add wireless ability into the mix. Check out Tyler's full review now.
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: May 23, 2014 2:11 am
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: Vantec

TweakTown image content/6/3/6361_99_vantec_nexstar_wi_fi_external_hdd_enclosure_review.png

 

Vantec has a long history in the storage market and has had quite a few successful products. One of the most successful product lines from the company has been the NexStar line-up, and today they add another product to that line: the NexStar Wi-Fi enclosure.

 

The Vantec NexStar Wi-Fi enclosure comes on the heels of the dock that was released a few years back. This time around, the device, being an enclosure, is much more portable and should fit those on the go. The enclosure, while featuring 802.11b/g/n, also carries the ability to connect via USB 3.0 for quick transfers.

 

Smartphone compatibility extends to iOS 4+ and Android 2.1+, while desktop compatibility extends to modern Windows operating systems and OS X 10.6+.

 

MSRP for the Vantec NexStar Wi-Fi Enclosure is listed at $89.99 with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6361_02_vantec_nexstar_wi_fi_external_hdd_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery for the Vantec includes reading materials along with two USB cables and the enclosure.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6361_03_vantec_nexstar_wi_fi_external_hdd_enclosure_review.jpg

 

The front of the enclosure carries a pearl white exterior. To the lower right, we have a set of three LEDs denoting power, WLAN, and battery.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6361_04_vantec_nexstar_wi_fi_external_hdd_enclosure_review.jpg

 

On the edge of the drive, we find the power button, USB 3.0 port, and power connection.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6361_05_vantec_nexstar_wi_fi_external_hdd_enclosure_review.jpg

 

The back of the drive houses the tray where you can install any drive you so choose.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6361_06_vantec_nexstar_wi_fi_external_hdd_enclosure_review.png

 

To begin setup of the enclosure, we must first connect to the NexStar via Wi-Fi.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6361_07_vantec_nexstar_wi_fi_external_hdd_enclosure_review.png

 

The same app that was used with the Wi-Fi dock is also used with the enclosure. This is easily found on the Google Play store and App Store from Apple.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6361_08_vantec_nexstar_wi_fi_external_hdd_enclosure_review.png

 

Launching the app and moving to the NexStar Wi-Fi tab, we see the contents of the drive. As you can see, we used a Windows operating system drive, and as such, you can see the files listed.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6361_09_vantec_nexstar_wi_fi_external_hdd_enclosure_review.png

 

In the settings, you can connect the NexStar to any existing wireless network. Security options include WEP, WPA, and WPA2.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6361_20_vantec_nexstar_wi_fi_external_hdd_enclosure_review.png

 

Testing the NexStar Wi-Fi, we were able to achieve 443 MB/s read and 138 MB/s write.

 

The Vantec NexStar Wi-Fi shares a market with the likes of the Seagate Central and LaCie Fuel but does it in a way where your storage capacity is completely up to you. The build quality of the unit seems to be quite good, and I had no issues with the unit during my time with it.

 

On the platform side of things, the NexStar Wi-Fi app does do what it's prescribed to do, and it does it quite well. I had no issues using the app apart from a single app crash that could have just been the fault of the iPad itself. On the storage performance side of things, the NexStar Wi-Fi is very quick, garnering 443 MB/s read and 138 MB/s write.

 

Battery life for the unit lasted about 5 hours while I was streaming movies from a hard disk drive. Of course, you could get even more if you had a more efficient SSD available to use in the unit.

 

MSRP of the Vantec NexStar Wi-Fi is set at $89.99 with a one-year warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the Vantec NexStar Wi-Fi for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The Vantec NexStar Wi-Fi retails for $80.20 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The Vantec NexStar Wi-Fi retails for CDN$85.00at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/3/6361_1234_vantec_nexstar_wi_fi_external_hdd_enclosure_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/3/6361_100_vantec_nexstar_wi_fi_external_hdd_enclosure_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases