TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,099 Reviews & Articles | 39,139 News Posts

ASUS SABERTOOTH Z97 MARK 1 (Intel Z97) Motherboard Review - CPU & System Benchmarks

ASUS SABERTOOTH Z97 MARK 1 (Intel Z97) Motherboard Review
Intel's latest chipset is the Z97, and today we check out our first Z97 motherboard coming from ASUS in the form of the SABERTOOTH MARK 1. Let's go! (TPE:2357)
| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: May 15, 2014 5:48 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: ASUS

CPU Test - HyperPi 0.99

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 0.99

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6345_30_asus_sabertooth_z97_mark_1_intel_z97_motherboard_review.png

 

 

CPU Test - AIDA64

 

Version and / or Patch Used: v4.30.2900

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6345_31_asus_sabertooth_z97_mark_1_intel_z97_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6345_32_asus_sabertooth_z97_mark_1_intel_z97_motherboard_review.png

 

Comparing the two platforms, you can see that CPU performance is quite similar between them both. When it comes to overclocking, you can see that we get a nice performance increase from both the Auto Tune and the manual overclock.

 

 

System Test - PCMark 8

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 2.0.191

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6345_33_asus_sabertooth_z97_mark_1_intel_z97_motherboard_review.png

 

 

System Test - MediaEspresso

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 6.5

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6345_34_asus_sabertooth_z97_mark_1_intel_z97_motherboard_review.png

 

Out of the box, you can see that both the Z97 and Z87 perform very close to each other with little difference being seen in both benchmarks. We can see a bump in performance with the Auto Tune shaving a little under 2 minutes from our encode time.

 

Manual overclocking then drops the overall process even more and continues to push PCMark 8 performance higher.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases