TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,072 Reviews & Articles | 38,997 News Posts

Kingston KVR-16R11S4/8HA DDR3 1600MHz ValueRAM Server Memory Review

Kingston KVR-16R11S4/8HA DDR3 1600MHz ValueRAM Server Memory Review
We are looking at the Kingston KVR-16R11S4/8HA ValueRAM server memory kit and seeing just what it is capable of. Let's find out what William thinks now.
| Server RAM in IT/Datacenter | Posted: May 9, 2014 9:39 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Kingston

Kingston DDR3 ValueRAM Server Memory

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6322_01_kingston_kvr_16r11s4_8ha_ddr3_1600mhz_valueram_server_memory_review.jpg

 

Kingston ValueRAM Server Premier memory modules are manufactured using a locked bill of materials (BOM), which is important to customers who use or build white box systems and require the brand and revision of the DRAM to always be the same. Kingston can fully control the BOM (down to the chip die revision), and this is critical in server systems requiring maximum stability and uptime.

 

Networking products, medical equipment, database servers, high-performance computing, video-on-demand servers, and web servers are examples of industries that require Server Premier memory.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6322_02_kingston_kvr_16r11s4_8ha_ddr3_1600mhz_valueram_server_memory_review.jpg

 

As you can see by looking at the picture of one of the sticks, Kingston is using SK-Hynix memory modules to populate the PCBs.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6322_03_kingston_kvr_16r11s4_8ha_ddr3_1600mhz_valueram_server_memory_review.jpg

 

For our test platform, we will use the ASRock 2U12L6SC-2TS6 Server, which we reviewed last month.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6322_05_kingston_kvr_16r11s4_8ha_ddr3_1600mhz_valueram_server_memory_review.jpg

 

Again, we have the Intel Xeon 2697 V2 CPUs running, giving us 24 cores and 48 threads to run our tests with. The only difference in this test platform is the new Kingston KVR-16R11S4/8HA DDR3 1600MHz ValueRAM Server Memory.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6322_06_kingston_kvr_16r11s4_8ha_ddr3_1600mhz_valueram_server_memory_review.jpg

 

This is how CPUz sees these memory modules; it shows the speed and timings of this kit. These speeds and timings are standard for server memory, so there's nothing fancy here.

 

 

AIDA64

 

AIDA64 memory bandwidth benchmarks (Memory Read, Memory Write, and Memory Copy) measure the maximum achievable memory data transfer bandwidth.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6322_07_kingston_kvr_16r11s4_8ha_ddr3_1600mhz_valueram_server_memory_review.png

 

Using AIDA64, we get our first look at what these memory kits can do. This shows good performance for these kits. All results are fairly close to the other kits we use.

 

 

LinX

 

LinX 0.6.4 is a CPU benchmark that measures floating-point operations per second and is used to compare CPU performance; it is also a very good stress test to run.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6322_08_kingston_kvr_16r11s4_8ha_ddr3_1600mhz_valueram_server_memory_review.png

 

Running LinX shows results a little below compared to some of our other tests, which usually range in the 120 GFlops speeds.

 

 

wPrime

 

wPrime is a leading multithreaded benchmark for x86 processors that tests your processor performance. This is a great test to use to rate the system speed; it also works as a stress test to see how well the system cooling is performing.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6322_09_kingston_kvr_16r11s4_8ha_ddr3_1600mhz_valueram_server_memory_review.png

 

wPrime is showing almost no difference compared to our other results.

 

 

We found that the Kingston KVR16R11S4/8HA ValueRAM Server memory is a drop-in replacement for your existing servers. If you want to expand the memory or if you are building new servers, these sticks will serve you very well.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the Kingston KVR16R11S4/8HA ValueRAM Server RAM for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The Kingston KVR16R11S4/8HA ValueRAM Server RAM retails for $103.00 at Amazon.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/3/6322_1234_kingston_kvr_16r11s4_8ha_ddr3_1600mhz_valueram_server_memory_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/3/6322_04_kingston_kvr_16r11s4_8ha_ddr3_1600mhz_valueram_server_memory_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases