TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,251 Reviews & Articles | 40,798 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

ASRock Rack 1U12LW-C2750 12-Bay Storage Server Review - Packaging & ASRock 1U12LW-C2750 Server

ASRock Rack 1U12LW-C2750 12-Bay Storage Server Review
Intel's Atom processor has taken several twists and turns over the last year. ASRock Rack takes the new Avoton 8-core model to storage servers.
| Network Storage in IT/Datacenter | Posted: May 8, 2014 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: ASRock Rack

Packaging

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_03_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.jpg

 

It's a good thing Amazon offers the 1U12LW with free shipping because the package is massive. This is a full length server, so it's important to have solid packaging to keep the internals safe.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_04_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.jpg

 

Our sample arrived double boxed and with dense foam around the actual server.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_05_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.jpg

 

The accessory package consists of drive mount screws, fan cable extensions, a spare fan, driver disk, cable ties, and a full printed user manual.

 

 

ASRock 1U12LW-C2750 Server

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_06_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the storage server. We were impressed with Seagate's ability to put eight drives in a 1U package, so we just about did a backflip after learning that ASRock managed to fit twelve 3.5-inch drive bays in the same 1U height.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_07_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.jpg

 

On the front of the server, we found two USB 2.0 ports, a recessed reset button, a power button, and a server ID button. The server ID button lights up blue when you press it and also lights another button on the back of the server. This makes it easy to work on the system from the one side to the other.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_08_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.jpg

 

The system is a full length server, but we wouldn't expect anything less from a system that can hold twelve 3.5-inch HDDs.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_09_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.jpg

 

To get into the system to install or swap HDDs, you have to unscrew the top panel.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_10_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.jpg

 

There are a couple rows of screws, but with sliding drive rails, this shouldn't be an issue other than the time consumed to get inside the system.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_11_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.jpg

 

The back of the server is where we found most of the goodies. Going from left to right, we found the power supply and its cooling fan; a serial port above the VGA display port; two USB 2.0 ports on the back under an IPMI (out of band management) next to two gigabit Ethernet ports; and on the far right is a PCIe slot.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_12_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_13_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.jpg

 

Here we filled the PCIe slot with an Intel X520-SR2 10GbE adapter.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases