TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,210 Reviews & Articles | 40,189 News Posts

Alphacool NexXxoS Cool Answer 240 D5/UT Set CPU Water Cooler Review - Accessories and Documentation

Alphacool NexXxoS Cool Answer 240 D5/UT Set CPU Water Cooler Review
We ventured across the pond for new water cooling kits to find Alphacool wants our opinion on the 240mm version of the NexXxoS Cool Answer set.
| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 2, 2014 6:04 am
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: Alphacool

Accessories and Documentation

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6299_32_alphacool_nexxxos_cool_answer_240_d5_ut_set_cpu_water_cooler_review.jpg

 

Alphacool also sends along a set of six 3/8" matte black compression fittings to secure tubing and make all the connections between the CPU block, reservoir, and radiator. These are knurled and offer no place for wrenches. In our experience with them, there isn't any need for that sort of force to install these properly.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6299_33_alphacool_nexxxos_cool_answer_240_d5_ut_set_cpu_water_cooler_review.jpg

 

Out of the packaging and disassembled, the brass fittings have a 3/8" OD to the inner section with a half-inch OD that the knurled nut will allow to pass through but still lock to the base of these fittings.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6299_34_alphacool_nexxxos_cool_answer_240_d5_ut_set_cpu_water_cooler_review.jpg

 

With a pair hand tightened into the radiator, we can see that the finished product will look much cleaner than barbs and clamps, which are a huge step in that next level of a water loop build. We found the O-rings seated rather easily, and even when it comes to tightening in the tubing, finger tight is all you need; overkill is just that.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6299_35_alphacool_nexxxos_cool_answer_240_d5_ut_set_cpu_water_cooler_review.jpg

 

We also are given roughly twelve feet of 3/8" ID, 1/2" OD clear tubing from Clearflex. This will allow users to add a color if they wish to the coolant and still be seen easily throughout the loop. It is also easily flexed to make connections, but don't bend it too far or it will deform and eventually kink.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6299_36_alphacool_nexxxos_cool_answer_240_d5_ut_set_cpu_water_cooler_review.jpg

 

They also send a 1000 milliliter bottle of Cape Kelvin Catcher fluid. The formula seems to be a secret, but they don't use the conventional additives to make this, and it is still anti-corrosive, anti-fungal, and safe for mixed metal loops, as well as being safe for various tubing materials.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6299_37_alphacool_nexxxos_cool_answer_240_d5_ut_set_cpu_water_cooler_review.jpg

 

To help bleed the loop, there is also an ATX bridge adapter that allows you to use the switch or power cord on the PSU along with this device to fool the PSU to thinking the motherboard is connected so that you can leak test and rid the system of air.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6299_38_alphacool_nexxxos_cool_answer_240_d5_ut_set_cpu_water_cooler_review.jpg

 

The set is cooled with this pair of NB-eLoop 1200RPM Bionic Loop fans. These are, of course, 120mm fans that are 25mm thick and offer this radiator 0.9mmH2O of static pressure with 72 cubic meters per hour of airflow. On this side of the pond, that is roughly 45CFM on these fans that carry a three-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6299_39_alphacool_nexxxos_cool_answer_240_d5_ut_set_cpu_water_cooler_review.jpg

 

The fans are powered with 3-pin connectors and also have rubber corner inserts to isolate the fan from whatever it is mounted to, in this instance, the UT60. There are six large blue blades in each fan, but look closer as these fans have a continuous ring that's just inside of the black frame designed to help boost performance.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6299_40_alphacool_nexxxos_cool_answer_240_d5_ut_set_cpu_water_cooler_review.jpg

 

There is an offset between the fans, and that is something to consider when looking at the pattern of holes offered in a chassis. We do like the sleeved wiring as it will help it disappear in the build. Speaking of that, it is now time to put it all together and see what we have.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases