TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,077 Reviews & Articles | 39,025 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will offer first-person mode on foot, and in vehicles on PC

Alphacool NexXxoS Cool Answer 240 D5/UT Set CPU Water Cooler Review - NexXoS UT60 Full Copper 240mm Radiator

Alphacool NexXxoS Cool Answer 240 D5/UT Set CPU Water Cooler Review
We ventured across the pond for new water cooling kits to find Alphacool wants our opinion on the 240mm version of the NexXxoS Cool Answer set.
| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 2, 2014 6:04 am
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: Alphacool

NexXxoS UT60 Full Copper 240mm Radiator

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6299_25_alphacool_nexxxos_cool_answer_240_d5_ut_set_cpu_water_cooler_review.jpg

 

First off, let's talk fin count on the UT60. While most AIOs and a ton of custom radiators run with very high FPI radiators, Alphacool is using a 12 FPI radiator to do the job here. Of course, the 60 in UT60 stands for the 60mm of thickness, so even with a low FPI, there is a serious amount of surface area.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6299_26_alphacool_nexxxos_cool_answer_240_d5_ut_set_cpu_water_cooler_review.jpg

 

Yes, this image is slightly off angle to look at the 240mm fan with M3 screw holes around it to secure fans to it. The reasoning is that we wanted to point out the pair of G1/4" holes offered to connect tubing and fittings to.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6299_27_alphacool_nexxxos_cool_answer_240_d5_ut_set_cpu_water_cooler_review.jpg

 

For those who don't want side outlets, what about outlets in the top of the header, or even better, what about six total outlets at one end of the radiator to do whatever you want? That is exactly what this radiator offers.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6299_28_alphacool_nexxxos_cool_answer_240_d5_ut_set_cpu_water_cooler_review.jpg

 

For those instances where the radiator sits higher than the reservoir, or when the ports are positioned at the bottom, this port at the opposite end can be used to bleed air, attach a fill line, or as we did, use this to fill the loop once it was assembled.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6299_29_alphacool_nexxxos_cool_answer_240_d5_ut_set_cpu_water_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the radiator comes a full set of goodies as well. There are eight screws for 25mm tick fans and another set of eight for 30mm fans. There are also five copper outlet plugs, since the other two of the seven holes will have fittings. There are also four copper plates with the OCOOL name to place where you want to and an Allen key to use with the fan screws.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6299_30_alphacool_nexxxos_cool_answer_240_d5_ut_set_cpu_water_cooler_review.jpg

 

All this matte black and copper has a very nice and crisp look, and it definitely screams out for something like a steam-punk mod with solid copper tubes ran through this set.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6299_31_alphacool_nexxxos_cool_answer_240_d5_ut_set_cpu_water_cooler_review.jpg

 

The OCOOL name placards can go anywhere: on the case, on your car, or on the radiator where it may be seen through the window of the chassis. We only placed on plaque on our radiator, right dead center at the bottom edge. No real reason…it just looked cool.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases