TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,488 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

ASUS Z97-WS Workstation (Intel Z97) Motherboard Review - Overclocking

ASUS Z97-WS Workstation (Intel Z97) Motherboard Review
ASUS' new Z97-WS is very fresh out of the gate, so be sure to get yourself a cup of coffee before you start this review - you won't want to miss a thing. (TPE:2357, NASDAQ:INTC)
| Motherboards in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Apr 28, 2014 4:13 pm
TweakTown Rating: 98%Manufacturer: ASUS

Overclocking

 

We jumped into the EZ Tuning Wizard right away to see what this could do. With the latest Intel CPU's, overclocking is simple unless you want to fine-tune a system or go to extreme cooling methods.

 

The ASUS Z97-WS comes with two ways to do this that are both simple to do and provide a quick way to boost performance of your system. The first way to handle this is with the EZ Tuning Wizard. Simply boot into the BIOS and select EZ-Tuning Wizard.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_33_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The first screen will tell you what your system is running at now. We are using an Intel 4770K CPU and we see stock settings shown here. Now click next.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_34_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here you have two choices, Daily Computing or Gaming/Media Encoding. We selected Gaming/Media Encoding. Click next to move to the next screen.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_35_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here we select what type of cooling we are using with the system. We are using a tower air cooler, but we wanted to see what we could come up with for an overclock so we selected water cooler. Click next and it will set the overclock and reboot the system.

 

This came up with a 4.589GHz overclock for our system. We ran our tests with this and everything worked just fine. We did see temperatures get to 80c on some tests, but the system did not thermal throttle, so all is ok.

 

We would suggest getting an AIO water cooler or even a water cooling kit to get better temperatures. Note that some CPU's might not be able to run at this setting, so setting the cooler type to tower might give you better results.

 

We just pushed it to the max and let it rip. After you get the system up and running, install the ASUS AI Suite III and that will bring us to the second way of overclocking the system.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_37_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

This is the main screen of the AI Suite III.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_38_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here we can see various system settings that are currently used. Note that the settings shown are after we used the BIOS EZ Tune Wizard.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_39_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

This shows the CPU strap.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_40_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here we see the possible settings for fan controls.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_41_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Now we are looking at system voltage settings.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_42_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

To use AI Suite III for overclocking go back to the main screen and select 5-Way optimization and that will bring you to this screen.

 

On this screen, you can set TPU settings to how you want to overclock the system. You have several options to select from here. We decided to select extreme tuning and use BCLK first. You can also set the time to run stress tests during this. We just went with the quick method to see what settings it would come up with for a final overclock.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_43_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

After you click the accept button, you will see several different screens that show what part of the system settings it is working on. The system will reboot several times during this process.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_44_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here is another screen that you will see during the tuning process.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_45_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

This is the final overclock that it came up with which worked just fine. Using different settings in the TPU screen will yield different results and you can even set a max temperature that you would allow the system to reach for your final overclock.

 

This is a useful program for fine-tuning how you want the overclock to work and you can set the run for a longer time if you need to. We decided to use the EZ Tuning Wizard in the BIOS to run all our tests. EZ Tune came up with this final overclock.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_46_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases