TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,250 Reviews & Articles | 40,779 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

ASUS Z97-WS Workstation (Intel Z97) Motherboard Review - BIOS & Software Details

ASUS Z97-WS Workstation (Intel Z97) Motherboard Review
ASUS' new Z97-WS is very fresh out of the gate, so be sure to get yourself a cup of coffee before you start this review - you won't want to miss a thing. (TPE:2357, NASDAQ:INTC)
| Motherboards in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Apr 28, 2014 4:13 pm
TweakTown Rating: 98%Manufacturer: ASUS

BIOS

 

With the Z97-WS we find a new and improved UEFI BIOS that ASUS has developed. We find that is much simpler to use and offers many new features.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_16_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

This is the main EZ Mode BIOS screen, which shows basic system information and options you can change without going deeper into the BIOS. It really offers just about anything that you would really need to adjust on this screen. To change the boot order, simply drag the device you want to boot first to the top spot. One of the things I changed first was CPU Fan speed and I simply dragged the line in the bar graph to 100%, as I wanted the fans running at full speed the whole time I was testing.

 

We also see EZ Tuning here, which we will go into in just a bit in the Overclocking section.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_17_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Clicking the Advanced Mode button at the bottom right brings you to this screen. Notice on the right side we can see hardware monitor read outs.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_18_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

This is the main screen for the AI Tweaker.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_19_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Now we see in the next four screens, additional options for the AI Tweaker tab.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_20_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_21_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_22_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_23_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Now we are looking at the Advanced tab and in the next two screens.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_24_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_25_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

That sums up the new UEFI BIOS screens and as you can see they offer just about anything you might want to adjust and then some.

 

 

Software

 

The supplied driver disk has the basic drivers that you need to get this board up and running.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_26_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Inserting the driver disk, we come to the first screen, which shows the options available for this disk. Clicking on each of these sections listed will start to install the selected drivers.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_27_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here are the last two drivers in the list.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_28_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here is the list of utilities that you can install.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_29_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

These are the last four utilities.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_30_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

If you need RAID drivers, you can find them here.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_31_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here are manuals in case you need them.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_32_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Should you need to contact ASUS you can find that information here. The last tab has specials for software.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases