TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,141 Reviews & Articles | 39,478 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

ASUS Z97-WS Workstation (Intel Z97) Motherboard Review - Layout Details

ASUS Z97-WS Workstation (Intel Z97) Motherboard Review
ASUS' new Z97-WS is very fresh out of the gate, so be sure to get yourself a cup of coffee before you start this review - you won't want to miss a thing. (TPE:2357, NASDAQ:INTC)
| Motherboards in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Apr 28, 2014 4:13 pm
TweakTown Rating: 98%Manufacturer: ASUS

Layout

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_08_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Just like some of the other ASUS workstation motherboards we have tested, this one is nice and clean. It has large heat sinks for the power components so they should run nice and cool. The area around the CPU socket is clean, so it should provide good airflow, which helps to keep it nice and cool.

 

You can also see two 8 pin and one 6 pin power connectors. The two 8 pin power connectors are for the CPU. The 6 pin power connector off to the left of the heat sinks we assume is for using more than one video card or other PCIe expansion boards that might need extra power.

 

In our tests, we only used the two 8 pin power connectors. Also off to the left side you can see the two Q-Code LED displays.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_09_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here we get a close up of the power area on the motherboard. You can also see the three power connectors. As we said above, we only used to the two 8 pin connectors on the right for our testing.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_10_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the top left of the motherboard, we can see the front panel audio header with a SPDIF header next to that. Next, we can see the power and reset buttons.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_11_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Now looking at the lower left side of the motherboard, we find two USB 2.0 headers at the top, followed below with a TPM header - if you wish to use the feature, you can plug in a TPM module here.

 

Next to the TPM header we find a T-Sensor connector, chassis intrusion connector, chassis fan control jumper and a CPU over voltage jumper.

 

The red button is for clearing the CMOS. Here we also see the new SATA Express connectors followed by four more SATA ports. Just above the SATA Express connector, we find the M.2 Socket 3 port. Just after the SATA connectors, we find the Dr. Power switch.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_12_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

On the bottom of the board, we can see the two USB 3.0 front panel headers and the main 24 pin power connector.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_13_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Now looking at the bottom right side of the motherboard, we see the EZ XMP switch and MemOK button.

 

Following up the right side of the board, we find the TPU switch, which allows you to automatically adjust the CPU ratio and clock speed for optimal system performance. Above that is the EPU switch, which will automatically detect the current PC load and moderate the power consumption.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_14_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here we get a better look at the SATA connections. On the left, we see the two SATA Express ports, and on the right are the four SATA ports.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6292_15_asus_z97_ws_workstation_intel_z97_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the back I/O, left side is Optical S/SPDIF output, HDMI port and DisplayPort outputs. Next is two USB 2.0 ports and an eSATA port, and the next stack is Q-Code logger button and the USB BIOS Flashback button. There are also two USB 3.0 ports, Mini DisplayPort, and the next two stacks are the same with Intel LAN ports with two USB 3.0 ports below. The last stack is the audio outputs.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases