TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,095 Reviews & Articles | 39,129 News Posts

OCZ RevoDrive 350 480GB PCIe SSD Review - OCZ RevoDrive 350 SSD

OCZ RevoDrive 350 480GB PCIe SSD Review
OCZ's move to all Toshiba flash has brought us a new Vector, Vertex and today, a new RevoDrive. Read on as Chris gives us the details on this new PCIe SSD. (TYO:6502)
| PCIe in Storage | Posted: Apr 24, 2014 4:53 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: OCZ Storage Solutions

OCZ RevoDrive 350 SSD

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6278_04_ocz_revodrive_350_480gb_pcie_ssd_review.jpg

 

OCZ has moved all of the products over to new unified graphics with the turquoise, white, and black theme.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6278_05_ocz_revodrive_350_480gb_pcie_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6278_06_ocz_revodrive_350_480gb_pcie_ssd_review.jpg

 

The packaging does a good job of securing the drive for shipping.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6278_07_ocz_revodrive_350_480gb_pcie_ssd_review.jpg

 

A software disk is included. On the disk, you'll find the drivers and software utilities.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6278_08_ocz_revodrive_350_480gb_pcie_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6278_077_ocz_revodrive_350_480gb_pcie_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the actual RevoDrive 350. The cover is nearly identical to OCZ's Z-Drive 4500 and ZD-XL SQL Accelerator 1.5, both from the enterprise side. The lower right hand portion doubles as a heat sink for the VCA 2.0 controller. It's a full height, half depth card, but this size shouldn't be a problem for workstation users.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6278_09_ocz_revodrive_350_480gb_pcie_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6278_10_ocz_revodrive_350_480gb_pcie_ssd_review.jpg

 

On the back, we see the four LSI SandForce SF-2281 controllers and half of the Toshiba 19nm flash.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6278_11_ocz_revodrive_350_480gb_pcie_ssd_review.jpg

 

To simplify things, OCZ slapped four 120GB drives together with a RAID controller with all of the power on the same board. I can almost hear the designers and engineers screaming, but as said, this is the simplified version.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6278_12_ocz_revodrive_350_480gb_pcie_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6278_13_ocz_revodrive_350_480gb_pcie_ssd_review.jpg

 

While researching some of the other components, we learned that OCZ put some logic behind the power distribution.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6278_14_ocz_revodrive_350_480gb_pcie_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6278_15_ocz_revodrive_350_480gb_pcie_ssd_review.jpg

 

Unlike the RevoDrive products before it, the new 350 doubled the bandwidth to the system. The 350 uses a PCIe 2.0 8-lane connector to the host.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases