TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,158 Reviews & Articles | 39,568 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

Punchtec Ord Bot Hadron 3D Printer Review - Testing: Complex Objects and Time

Punchtec Ord Bot Hadron 3D Printer Review
The Ord Bot Hadron from Punchtec is a very versatile 3D printer that changed the way Charles think about printing with PLA and 1.75mm filament.
| 3D Printers in Maker & DIY | Posted: Apr 18, 2014 10:03 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Punchtec

Complex Objects and Time

 

Printing complex objects on a larger scale is an area where 3D printers really shine, and those that have been designed well can pull away from the pack here. This is where I really like to take into account surface finish, printing time, and point out any flaws that I see. To test these parameters, I have selected the following:

 

A GoPro camera mount that I have used quite a bit over the last year. Its design allows for attachment to objects using nothing but zip ties. This model will test the printer's ability to print both large surfaces as well as small complex details. I print this model at 100-percent infill, which makes it stronger but causes the model to retain excessive heat during the printing process. This means that the plastic could bulge out at the sides or drupe in the middle. When the print is finished, I test to see if a GoPro case will fit onto the mount.

 

Up next is a single wall vase that is based on a fractal design. This tests the printer's ability to handle very fast paced direction changes as the model features many sharp angles. Additionally, the printer's ability to maintain a single wall thickness while twisting is tested. If no gaps can be seen, then I call this print a success.

 

The final object in this test section is the Julia Vase #004 AKA "Bloom." This is also a single-walled vase, but it features not only sharp angle changes, but complex curves as well. As far as aesthetics go, this is one of the most beautiful vases on Thingiverse, and really stresses not just a printer's ability to remain consistent, but the filament quality as well.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6261_31_punchtec_ord_bot_hadron_3d_printer_review.jpg

 

We begin with the GoPro Ziptie Mount 2; here you can see that the PLA did get a little stringy in areas, causing gaps in the layers. Overall, this is a good print for PLA in my opinion. The three "fingers" that grip the GoPro camera's mounting bracket printed well, and even the space for the captive nut turned out well despite a bridge.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6261_32_punchtec_ord_bot_hadron_3d_printer_review.jpg

 

Here is a look from the other side, and you can see that the cable tie slots are nice and uniform and at perfect angles to each other. Overall, this mount was very solid, and I would not hesitate hanging a $400 GoPro camera off of it.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6261_33_punchtec_ord_bot_hadron_3d_printer_review.jpg

 

The final fit test turned out well, and the GoPro easily attached to the mount with just the right amount of friction to keep things steady without stressing the fingers. I have printed dozens of these little mounts in ABS over the last year, and this is the first PLA model I have attempted. I am happy to say that it not only surprised me, but did a lot to change my mind on PLA. Overall, this print took 38 minutes at 70mm/sec.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6261_34_punchtec_ord_bot_hadron_3d_printer_review.jpg

 

Now we get into the first single walled vase. This is the Koch Snowflake Vase #3, a single-walled vase that showed how well the Ord Bot Hadron really prints. This vase stressed the printer to its limits and took only 1 hour and 8 minutes to print at 40mm/sec. Here you can see the layers neatly stacked on top of each other with a slight offset of each new layer. The walls of this vase are very nicely printed and appear to be watertight.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6261_35_punchtec_ord_bot_hadron_3d_printer_review.jpg

 

Unfortunately, that water-tight praise can only be applied to the walls as the base has several gaps that can be seen. This can be attributed to the way PLA pulls thin at random points in the print and the single layer that was utilized for the base. I always like to have 3-4 layers for the base, but that is not ideal for testing.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6261_36_punchtec_ord_bot_hadron_3d_printer_review.jpg

 

Looking inside the vase, we can see that the walls remain nice and smooth, and that the base is filled with more pinholes that were originally shown in the previous image. Here you can really get a sense of the sharp angle changes the printer had to make, and how well it executed those changes.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6261_37_punchtec_ord_bot_hadron_3d_printer_review.jpg

 

Finally, we arrive at the Julia Vase. This vase reminds me of a painting by Katsushika Hokusai, called The Great Wave of Kanagawa. Its flowing lines and sharp curves make it the most challenging print I have in my test suite. Most of the objects I utilize feature a repeating pattern, but this Julia Vase is ever-changing, layer by layer, with no two the same.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6261_38_punchtec_ord_bot_hadron_3d_printer_review.jpg

 

Here you can see that there are some minor flaws in a few layers, but nothing that even remotely affects the overall quality of the print. The single wall print turned out outstanding, and it really surprised me that the PLA was able to print this well. Normally, this is the quality I expect from ABS.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6261_39_punchtec_ord_bot_hadron_3d_printer_review.jpg

 

Looking at the bottom, we can see similar pinholes to those we saw in the previous vase's base. Again, I feel that this is indicative to the base being a single layer of PLA. Another layer or two would have surely sealed it up.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6261_40_punchtec_ord_bot_hadron_3d_printer_review.jpg

 

Looking inside, we can see that the walls are once again as smooth as the exterior, and no blobbing or stringing is present. The pinholes in the base are better seen here as well.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Maker & DIY content at our Maker & DIY reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases