TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,202 Reviews & Articles | 40,045 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

LaCie Little Big Disk Thunderbolt 2 External Storage Device Review - LaCie Little Big Disk Thunderbolt 2

LaCie Little Big Disk Thunderbolt 2 External Storage Device Review
The "World's Fastest External Storage" makes its way through the lab at TweakTown. Read on to see what we had to say about this unique storage solution. (NASDAQ:STX)
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Apr 16, 2014 10:05 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: LaCie

LaCie Little Big Disk Thunderbolt 2

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6258_10_lacie_little_big_disk_thunderbolt_2_external_storage_device_review.jpg

 

I was quite surprised at how small the box was for the LBD, but it really goes to show how small the device actually is. On the front of the box, we have an image of the drive centered with marketing information around the outside edges.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6258_11_lacie_little_big_disk_thunderbolt_2_external_storage_device_review.jpg

 

Removing the packages from the box, you can see LaCie took a lot of care in packaging the LBD. The accessories are separated into their own box while the unit itself is packed into high-density foam.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6258_12_lacie_little_big_disk_thunderbolt_2_external_storage_device_review.jpg

 

The scope of delivery for the LBD includes a whole host of power connections, which appear to be one for each region the device will be launched. We also have the Thunderbolt cable, stand for the enclosure, and the Little Big Disk itself.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6258_13_lacie_little_big_disk_thunderbolt_2_external_storage_device_review.jpg

 

The Little Big Disk Thunderbolt 2 is a Neil Poulton design, though to differentiate from previous models, LaCie has gone with a black finish.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6258_14_lacie_little_big_disk_thunderbolt_2_external_storage_device_review.jpg

 

The back of the drive houses dual Thunderbolt 2 ports along with the power connection and Kensington lock slot.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6258_15_lacie_little_big_disk_thunderbolt_2_external_storage_device_review.jpg

 

Opening up the unit, we found a very small fan with a rubber duct to control the flow of air in the unit.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6258_16_lacie_little_big_disk_thunderbolt_2_external_storage_device_review.jpg

 

The Thunderbolt 2 PCB houses the Intel L5520 Controller.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6258_17_lacie_little_big_disk_thunderbolt_2_external_storage_device_review.jpg

 

Moving on, we have the M.2 PCB with both 512GB Samsung PCIe SSDs.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases