TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,488 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Sentey Revolution Pro Laser Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the Revolution Pro

Sentey Revolution Pro Laser Gaming Mouse Review
Sentey delivers the Revolution Pro laser mouse for testing. Join us as we take our tour of the first Sentey peripheral to hit the lab for review.
| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Apr 17, 2014 6:07 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Sentey

Inside the Revolution Pro

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6255_25_sentey_revolution_pro_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

While we have two halves, there should be a third section laid on its side in this image, but the left side of the Revolution Pro would not release its grip on the base, so we left it attached instead of breaking it trying to remove it.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6255_26_sentey_revolution_pro_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The Mode and Lift buttons use T-MEC black switches that are easily activated and offer a crisp click when pressed. The page forward and back are backed with AIW red switches that require a fair amount of pressure to use and have a very audible click to them.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6255_27_sentey_revolution_pro_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

While a bit tough to see, under the left click button, we do in fact find top-tier Omron D2FC-F-7N switches used in the Revolution Pro, giving longer lifespan to the most used buttons.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6255_28_sentey_revolution_pro_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

We also found the Avago ADNS 9800 laser based sensor, which is as advertised--not that we have found any that didn't, but it is always nice to get a visual confirmation on the components in use.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6255_29_sentey_revolution_pro_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The choice of MCU in this device came down to using the Sonin SN8F2288JG. This 8-bit MCU with onboard memory capabilities is plenty capable of delivering what the Revolution Pro states it can on paper.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6255_30_sentey_revolution_pro_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Swinging back around to the right side of the mouse now, we see a matching Omron switch under the right click button, and also the use of a TTC switch for the heavy feeling scroll wheel.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6255_31_sentey_revolution_pro_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The profile we booted the mouse with is profile one, and it has red LEDs to signify this profile. As you cycle through them, the various profiles are denoted with a pulsating light like this red is, but they offer green, blue, purple, and teal as you go from profile one to five.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6255_32_sentey_revolution_pro_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

As we spin the Revolution Pro around, we find the headlights match the tail lights on all profiles. We also see that just off the left click button is an indicator section. This has an LED matching the profile lights as well as four blue bars to indicate which DPI level you are currently operating on.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases