TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,059 Reviews & Articles | 38,954 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Strap an iPad to your face with AirVR for mobile VR

Ozone Strike Pro Backlit Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review - Ozone Strike Pro Mechanical Keyboard

Ozone Strike Pro Backlit Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review
The next evolution of the Strike keyboard is upon us. We look at the newest Strike Pro mechanical keyboard from Ozone. Let's see what Chad thinks of it.
| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Apr 16, 2014 6:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Ozone Gaming

Ozone Strike Pro Mechanical Keyboard

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6253_09_ozone_strike_pro_backlit_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the Strike Pro's left side, we see that the upper frame section wraps around the keys and goes all the way to the bottom, improving how it looks on the desk. If you look at the key caps when this keyboard is flat on the table, then you will notice they lean ever so slightly away from the user.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6253_10_ozone_strike_pro_backlit_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

All of the keys on the keyboard have this same smooth rubberized coating applied, but the F and J keys have tall ridges to associate your fingers to the keys blindly. Each cap is also cylindrical in shape as they almost move your fingertips to the center of each cap.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6253_11_ozone_strike_pro_backlit_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The left side of the keyboard offers the typical US layout with the right Windows key sporting the Ozone logo on it to go along with the Strike Pro painted onto the built-in wrist rest and the leading edge of the space bar.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6253_12_ozone_strike_pro_backlit_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

While holding down the Ozone key on the bottom, these F-keys will also allow you to decrease or increase the response time on F1 and F2, while F3 and F4 are for adjusting the polling rate at the keyboard rather than via software. On the F5 and F6 keys, we start the multimedia section with the play/pause and the stop buttons.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6253_13_ozone_strike_pro_backlit_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

As we continue with the F7 and F8 keys, they offer track selection; we then see the F9 key with a music note, which is the key used to start Media Player. Then we also get the mute, volume down, and volume up buttons on the F10 through F12 keys.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6253_14_ozone_strike_pro_backlit_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The right side of the board offers all of the usual command and number pad keys we would expect to find, but along with the logo made of aluminum, there's a lack of LEDs to denote the lock functions. This is due to allowing four keys to not be illuminated most of the time and illuminated once the locks are applied.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6253_15_ozone_strike_pro_backlit_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Looking a bit closer to the key caps, we can also see there is a G-mode button to lock out the Windows key and a lighting button next to it that cycles through off, pulsating, 30 percent, 50 percent, and 100 percent LED brightness. On the six keys below that, you use the Ozone button and M1 through M6 for the Marcos programmed and set to each key via software.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases