TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,250 Reviews & Articles | 40,790 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Cyanogen CEO: "Samsung couldn't build a good OS if they tried"

HGST Ultrastar SSD800MH 12Gb/s SAS3 Enterprise SSD Review - Benchmarks - 4k Random Read/Write

HGST Ultrastar SSD800MH 12Gb/s SAS3 Enterprise SSD Review
HGST's SSD800MH enterprise SSD is designed to deliver the highest performance available in the harshest workloads imaginable. (NASDAQ:WDC)
| SSDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Apr 15, 2014 6:05 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: HGST

4k Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6250_14_hgst_ultrastar_ssd800mh_12gb_s_sas3_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

We precondition the HGST SSD800MH for 9,000 seconds, or two and a half hours, receiving performance reports every second. We plot this data to illustrate the drive's descent into steady state.

 

This dual-axis chart consists of 18,000 data points, with the IOPS on the left and the latency on the right. The red dots signify IOPS, and the grey dots are latency measurements during the test. We place latency data in a logarithmic scale to bring it into comparison range. The lines through the data scatter are the average during the test. This type of testing presents standard deviation and maximum/minimum I/O in a visual manner.

 

Note that the IOPS and latency figures are nearly mirror images of each other. This illustrates that high-granularity testing can give our readers a good feel for latency distribution by viewing IOPS at one-second intervals. This should be in mind when viewing our test results below. This downward slope of performance only occurs during the first few hours of use, and we present precondition results only to confirm steady state convergence.

 

We usually do not comment on precondition results, but a beastly average of 98,000 IOPS deserves mention.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6250_15_hgst_ultrastar_ssd800mh_12gb_s_sas3_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

Each level tested includes 300 data points (five minutes of one second reports) to illustrate performance variability. The line for each OIO depth represents the average speed reported during the five-minute interval. 4k random speed measurements are an important metric when comparing drive performance as the hardest type of file access for any storage solution to master is small-file random. One of the most sought-after performance specifications, 4k random performance is a heavily marketed figure.

 

The SSD800MH averages 130,468 IOPS with a 4k random read workload at 256 OIO (Outstanding I/O), but its peak is at 32 OIO, where it delivers an exceptional 135,570 IOPS. The Toshiba PX02SS averages 117,289 IOPS with a 4k random read workload at 256 OIO (Outstanding I/O), but its peak is at 32 OIO, where it delivers an outstanding 133,871 IOPS. The HGST SSD800MM peaks at 256 OIO with 149,352 IOPS. Perhaps the only chink in the vaunted HGST SSD's armor comes with this 4k random read workload, where it experiences a drop in performance in 64 and 128 OIO workloads. It is important to note our samples are pre-production with A100 firmware.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6250_16_hgst_ultrastar_ssd800mh_12gb_s_sas3_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The PX02SS provides the best performance-v-latency at 32 OIO, while the SSD800MH thrives at the higher 256 OIO.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6250_17_hgst_ultrastar_ssd800mh_12gb_s_sas3_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

Garbage collection routines are more pronounced in heavy write workloads, leading to performance variability.

 

The HGST SSD800MH averages an incredible 102,085 IOPS, the SSD800MM averages 64,279 IOPS, and the PX02SS provides 45,786 IOPS at 256 OIO. This is the highest 4k write speed we have measured with a 2.5-inch SSD in steady state.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6250_18_hgst_ultrastar_ssd800mh_12gb_s_sas3_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The SSD800MH adds remarkably consistent performance to the chart-topping 4k write performance.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6250_19_hgst_ultrastar_ssd800mh_12gb_s_sas3_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

Our write percentage testing illustrates the varying performance of each solution with mixed workloads. The 100 percent column to the right is a pure write workload of the 4k file size, and 0 percent represents a pure 4k read workload.

 

The SSD800MH tears through this test with ease, easily outpacing its sibling and the Toshiba PX02SS. The consistent performance envelope is impressive.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6250_20_hgst_ultrastar_ssd800mh_12gb_s_sas3_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

We record the power consumption measurements during our precondition run. We calculate the stated average results during the last five minutes of the test, after the device has settled into steady state.

 

The SSD800MH averages 7.98 watts, the SSD800MM averages 7.56 watts, and the PX02SS averages 5.85 watts during the measurement window.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6250_21_hgst_ultrastar_ssd800mh_12gb_s_sas3_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

IOPS-to-Watts measurements are generated from data recorded during our precondition run, and the stated average is from the last five minutes of the test.

 

The SSD800MH averages 9,017 IOPS-per-Watt, the Toshiba PX02SS averages 7,869 IOPS-per-Watt, and the SSD800MM averages 8,977 IOPS-per-Watt. It is important to note the IOPS-per-Watt set forth in the specifications of all drives is with read activity. We measure IOPS-per-Watt with write activity.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases