TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,921 Reviews & Articles | 38,153 News Posts

AMD Radeon R9 295X2 8GB Reference Dual GPU Video Card Review - Video Card Details and Specifications

AMD Radeon R9 295X2 8GB Reference Dual GPU Video Card Review

They say it's going to be fast, but there's only one way to find out. Let's test the dual GPU, water cooled beast that is called the Radeon R9 295X2 8GB. (NYSE:AMD)

| AMD Radeon GPU in Video Cards | Posted: Apr 8, 2014 12:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: AMD

Close up with the AMD Radeon R9 295X2 8GB

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6242_06_amd_radeon_r9_295x2_8gb_reference_dual_gpu_video_card_review.jpg

 

Taking the card out of the briefcase and seeing it for the first time, you can straight away see that AMD has opted for a custom All-In-One liquid cooling system from the good folks over at Asetek. I think the big thing we notice, though, is that while AMD has chosen to cool the GPUs via water cooling, they haven't offered active cooling for the other high-end components on the card, which include the RAM and regulators.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6242_07_amd_radeon_r9_295x2_8gb_reference_dual_gpu_video_card_review.jpg

 

If we move in a bit closer to just the card itself, you can see we've got an awesome metal shroud which not only looks great, but feels fantastic. The weight and feel of the card itself make for something that really feels high quality. Behind the single fan that is designed to only take care of the items outside of the GPUs, you can see a mean looking copper heat sink.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6242_16_amd_radeon_r9_295x2_8gb_reference_dual_gpu_video_card_review.png

 

If we look at the above layered image from AMD, you can see just how exactly the card looks with each GPU having its own unit and the copper heat sink in the middle. Around each GPU, we have the memory and like most of the high-end AMD offerings, we've got a back plate - the card itself is really put together superbly. We're hoping that AMD is offering the performance to go with the look.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6242_15_amd_radeon_r9_295x2_8gb_reference_dual_gpu_video_card_review.png

 

As for the custom Asetek All-In-One water cooling unit, we've got an integrated pump that sits inside the card, along with micro channels on the copper plates.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6242_08_amd_radeon_r9_295x2_8gb_reference_dual_gpu_video_card_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6242_10_amd_radeon_r9_295x2_8gb_reference_dual_gpu_video_card_review.jpg

 

Moving away from the card and following the two tubes coming out the top of the card, we end up at a single 120mm radiator with fan. Here we've also got the reservoir and like other AIO units, all you have to do is mount the radiator to your case to get up and running. This setup is actually slightly easier as it doesn't have its own power or anything like that. Instead we've got a cable that goes down inside the card, which overall makes for a clean setup.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6242_09_amd_radeon_r9_295x2_8gb_reference_dual_gpu_video_card_review.jpg

 

Moving back to the card and taking the time to quickly move around it, you can see that power comes in the form of two 8-Pin PCIe power connectors. To be completely honest, this is less then I personally thought the card would carry. Considering the water cooling system and two GPUs, a three 8-Pin PCIe power connector setup wouldn't have been a surprise. Saying that, though, the two 8-Pin PCIe power connectors do have to be able to support a combined 50 Amp of current.

 

This means that we're not just talking about a power supply that can offer the wattage needed to run this card, but one that can also handle the amperage and this is when quality power supplies are separated from the rest. We'll talk a bit more about this in the final thoughts, though.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6242_11_amd_radeon_r9_295x2_8gb_reference_dual_gpu_video_card_review.jpg

 

Moving away from the back of the card, but staying across the top, you can see we've got a BIOS switch at the front. Like most models we've seen from AMD, while the BIOS switch is offered in this case, we don't have a difference between the two BIOS'. Partners could choose to do something with it, though. Just like other R9 29X cards, we don't have a CrossFire connector, as it's not needed. If you want to make use of a second R9 295X2 8GB, you simply just install it and enable it in the BIOS.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6242_12_amd_radeon_r9_295x2_8gb_reference_dual_gpu_video_card_review.jpg

 

Flipping the card over, you can see the location of the two GPUs. You can also see the massive back plate that goes over the card, along with some of the other components being shown. From top to bottom and left to right, the R9 295X2 8GB is all class.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6242_13_amd_radeon_r9_295x2_8gb_reference_dual_gpu_video_card_review.jpg

 

Finishing up our look at the card, I find myself instantly in I/O heaven. Alongside the Dual-Link DVI port, you can see we've got four mini DisplayPort connectors. If you're someone who uses a multi monitor setup and enjoys having all monitors using the same connector, you'll find yourself extremely happy with the large amount of mini DP connectors.

 

 

Specifications

 

Looking below, you can see some of the information regarding the R9 295X2 8GB. For the most part, though, you can see a lot of the main information is not being shown. For what we can see, you can see we're dealing with a GPU clock speed of 1018MHz and memory that comes clocked in at an even 5000MHz QDR.

 

The 1018MHz core clock is actually slightly up on the 1000MHz clock that the single GPU R9 290X 4GB has. What we can't see is the amount of GDDR5. The R9 295 X2 sports a massive 8GB of GDDR5 that's split into two lots of 4GB sitting on a 512-bit memory bus and not the 64-bit memory bus that GPU-Z tells us at the moment.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6242_01_amd_radeon_r9_295x2_8gb_reference_dual_gpu_video_card_review.png

 

When it comes to the main numbers, we're essentially just dealing with doubled R9 290X 4GB numbers. Stream units come in at 5,632, Texture Units 352, ROPs 128 and memory as we mentioned comes in the form of a dual 512-bit setup. Typical board power is also doubled to 500 watt. All the standard high-end features are also supported with PCIe 3.0, DirectX 11.2 and AMD Mantle.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Video Cards content at our Video Cards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases