TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,250 Reviews & Articles | 40,779 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

Thermaltake Core V71 Full-Tower Chassis Review - Thermaltake Core V71 Full-Tower Chassis

Thermaltake Core V71 Full-Tower Chassis Review
The newest chassis from Thermaltake hits the lab, and we take a tour of the Core V71. Follow on as Chad tells us all about this new full-tower case.
| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 7, 2014 10:08 pm
TweakTown Rating: 98%Manufacturer: Thermaltake

Thermaltake Core V71 Full-Tower Chassis

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_07_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the vast expanse of fine mesh running down the front bezel of the Core V71, it does give it that tall and slender look, with a fair bit of style and very little aggressiveness to it. At the top, there are two mesh and removable bay covers; other than those, only the logo and naming at the bottom denote what this chassis is, or rather who made it.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_08_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As the front makes a gentle curve to the start of the top panel, the Core V71 offers a lot going on in the front I/O. To the left are the reset button, HDD activity LED, the high and low buttons of the fan controller, and a fan LED switch. In the center is a power button with an LED ring, and to the right, we see two USB 2.0 ports, a pair of USB 3.0 ports, and the audio jacks.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_09_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Stepping back a bit, the top panel offers the same feel as the front aesthetically and will allow any cooling setup under it ventilation to breathe, and it looks really good while doing it.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_10_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the left side of the chassis, we see the extended top panel used on the Core V71 that affords many more cooling options than just hanging things inside. We also see that the textured steel panel offers a huge window that gives us our first glance at the light blue drive trays inside of this chassis, as well as everything else.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_11_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As we moved around to the back, we noticed that the top section also offers a dust filter that runs the entire length of the top panel.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_12_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Just under the dust filter is a large chunk of the panel cut away to allow a grip to remove it.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_13_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The back of the chassis starts with external water cooling holes with grommets above the rear exhaust fan. To the left of those is the rear I/O followed with eight ventilated expansion slots and more passive mesh to their right. That leave the PSU to be mounted at the bottom, and it also offers a dust filter.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_14_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The right side of the Core V71 is a fair bit plain to look at, but along with the textured paint applied to this steel panel, the majority of the panel has been extended another 5mm in depth to offer additional room for wire management behind the motherboard tray.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_15_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Under the chassis are large plastic feet that have strips of rubber applied to add a bit of grip. It is here we also see the bottom offers two dust filters. There is one under the PSU that goes out the back, and there is one for the front that requires removal of the bezel to access it through the front.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases