TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,091 Reviews & Articles | 39,110 News Posts

Cougar CMX V3 850-Watt 80 PLUS Bronze Power Supply Review - Package & Inside the Box

Cougar CMX V3 850-Watt 80 PLUS Bronze Power Supply Review
Cougar updates its CMX series of power supplies with a reduced footprint, fourth-gen Haswell support and more. Let's see what Zac thinks of it right now.
| 80 PLUS Bronze PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 8, 2014 10:03 pm
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: Cougar

Package

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6231_04_cougar_cmx_v3_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Typical orange and black adorn the packaging for the CMX 850W V3 power supply. The front gives us a decent shot of the power supply, and the list of features at the bottom should cover what most are after.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6231_05_cougar_cmx_v3_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

For those who aren't satisfied by the highlights on the front, there is a lot more detail present on the back of the box, including I/O specifications, connector availability, and more.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6231_06_cougar_cmx_v3_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The top, bottom, and both sides lack anything of importance other than showing the colors of the power supply.

 

 

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6231_10_cougar_cmx_v3_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Inside, we find that things are packed well with plenty of foam on all sides of the unit. The bundled cables and accessories occupy the remaining space inside the box.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6231_11_cougar_cmx_v3_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The top of the unit houses the I/O specification label for the CMX V3 850W power supply. Here we can also see the semi-gloss finish on the top.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6231_12_cougar_cmx_v3_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Both sides feature the Cougar CMX logo, with the other side being inverted. This is our first glimpse at the Cougar red, which tends to resemble more of a candied metallic orange that feels like it changes color depending on lighting and angle.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6231_13_cougar_cmx_v3_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

There's nothing special going on in the back of the unit. Here we see the standard honeycomb mesh with AC input and heavy duty on/off rocker switch.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6231_14_cougar_cmx_v3_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Turning around to the front, we find that the modular connectors are clearly labeled for both rail and connector type. The only thing lacking here is labelling for the natively wired cables.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6231_15_cougar_cmx_v3_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Moving to the bottom of the unit, we see that the orange shows up a bit more red this time, just as I said before. We'll get to the 135mm fan in a bit.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6231_16_cougar_cmx_v3_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

As stated before, all of the modular cables are fully sleeved and have been made into flat cables. This technically helps with airflow but can make routing cables difficult from time to time if you need to twist the cable.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6231_17_cougar_cmx_v3_850_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Also included inside the box are mounting screws, cable ties, the user manual, and AC input cord.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases