TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,245 Reviews & Articles | 40,697 News Posts

GIGABYTE GA-7PESH3 (Intel C602) Workstation Motherboard Review - Software & Remote Access

GIGABYTE GA-7PESH3 (Intel C602) Workstation Motherboard Review
GIGABYTE unleashes a dual-CPU workstation motherboard equipped with enough PCIe lanes to run four video cards and SAS storage options. Let's check it out. (TPE:2376)
| Motherboards in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Apr 7, 2014 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

Software

 

The GA-7PESH3 comes with one driver disk.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_23_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

When using Windows Server 2008, we see this screen when you insert the driver disk. Clicking on each item will install the drivers selected.

 

This disk seems to only auto run in Windows Server 2008. In other operating systems, we had to manually go into the device manager and select each item to browse the disk to find the correct driver.

 

It also seemed that not all drivers were included on this disk for different operating systems.

 

For example, in Windows 7, we installed the LAN drivers so we could access the Internet. We then went to GIGABYTE's website and download the rest of the drivers needed and installed them manually.

 

 

Remote Access

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_24_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Some of the IPMI remote management features of this board do not function if there are video cards installed. In order to remote into the machine and operate the BIOS/desktop, you cannot use extra video cards, and this feature will only work with onboard video. All other features of IPMI will function as normal.

 

To get remote access up and running, enter the BIOS and head over to the server management tab. Move on down to the BMC LAN configuration tab. This will show the IP address used for remote access.

 

Enter this IP address into your browser and you will see the login page.

 

Log in using:

Username: admin

Password: password

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_25_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

This is the home page for remote access.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_26_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

With the power control menu, you can cycle the machine or power it on.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_27_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here you can see all the voltage levels that the machine is running.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_28_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The temperature menu shows all the different temperatures that the machine is running at.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_29_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

With the platform event menu, you can select what happens when an event occurs.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_30_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The last menu item is vKVM & vMedia and Launch. This allows you to remote into the machine's desktop and operate it just as if you are sitting in front of the machine.

 

In order to get to this remote management screen, we had to remove the NVIDIA Quadro K5000.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases