TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,931 Reviews & Articles | 38,203 News Posts

GIGABYTE GA-7PESH3 (Intel C602) Workstation Motherboard Review

GIGABYTE GA-7PESH3 (Intel C602) Workstation Motherboard Review

GIGABYTE unleashes a dual-CPU workstation motherboard equipped with enough PCIe lanes to run four video cards and SAS storage options. Let's check it out. (TPE:2376)

| Motherboards in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Apr 7, 2014 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

Introduction

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_01_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Long known for making excellent enthusiast class motherboards, GIGABYTE is now using that knowledge on a dual-socket 2011 workstation class board called the GA-7PESH3.

 

Workstation class motherboards demand high reliability and excellent performance, which is something GIGABYTE is well known for.

 

This motherboard has a large amount of features, so let us look what this motherboard has to offer. The latest BIOS version R14 supports the Intel Xeon Processor E5-2600 V2 family. This includes the E5-2697 V2, which has 12 cores/24 threads.

 

This motherboard supports four-way SLI and CrossFireX, and it can also handle NVIDIA Tesla, Intel Xeon Phi co-processors, NVIDIA Quadro, and AMD FirePro cards. For storage options, the GA-7PESH3 includes eight SAS 6Gb/s ports.

 

Let us look at what you get in the retail package.

 

 

Packaging

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_02_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here we see the front of the retail box, which shows that this motherboard is SLI, VMWare and Red Hat certified.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_03_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the back of the retail box, we see the main attributes of the product, which is reliability, availability, and serviceability.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_04_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Opening the box, we see the motherboard in an antistatic bag and foam inserts to protect the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_05_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

After we remove the motherboard and cardboard insert, we find all the motherboard accessories underneath.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_06_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The accessories in the retail package include:

 

- Six SATA connectors

- One USB expansion via header

- One USB 3.0 expansion via header

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_07_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Additional accessories are the back I/O plate and SLI and Crossfire bridges.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_08_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Also included in the accessory package is a quick reference guide and a driver disk.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases