TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,201 Reviews & Articles | 40,027 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

GIGABYTE GA-7PESH3 (Intel C602) Workstation Motherboard Review

GIGABYTE GA-7PESH3 (Intel C602) Workstation Motherboard Review
GIGABYTE unleashes a dual-CPU workstation motherboard equipped with enough PCIe lanes to run four video cards and SAS storage options. Let's check it out. (TPE:2376)
| Motherboards in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Apr 7, 2014 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

Introduction

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_01_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Long known for making excellent enthusiast class motherboards, GIGABYTE is now using that knowledge on a dual-socket 2011 workstation class board called the GA-7PESH3.

 

Workstation class motherboards demand high reliability and excellent performance, which is something GIGABYTE is well known for.

 

This motherboard has a large amount of features, so let us look what this motherboard has to offer. The latest BIOS version R14 supports the Intel Xeon Processor E5-2600 V2 family. This includes the E5-2697 V2, which has 12 cores/24 threads.

 

This motherboard supports four-way SLI and CrossFireX, and it can also handle NVIDIA Tesla, Intel Xeon Phi co-processors, NVIDIA Quadro, and AMD FirePro cards. For storage options, the GA-7PESH3 includes eight SAS 6Gb/s ports.

 

Let us look at what you get in the retail package.

 

 

Packaging

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_02_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here we see the front of the retail box, which shows that this motherboard is SLI, VMWare and Red Hat certified.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_03_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the back of the retail box, we see the main attributes of the product, which is reliability, availability, and serviceability.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_04_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Opening the box, we see the motherboard in an antistatic bag and foam inserts to protect the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_05_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

After we remove the motherboard and cardboard insert, we find all the motherboard accessories underneath.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_06_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The accessories in the retail package include:

 

- Six SATA connectors

- One USB expansion via header

- One USB 3.0 expansion via header

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_07_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Additional accessories are the back I/O plate and SLI and Crossfire bridges.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6228_08_gigabyte_ga_7pesh3_intel_c602_workstation_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Also included in the accessory package is a quick reference guide and a driver disk.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases