TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,070 Reviews & Articles | 38,989 News Posts

Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2TB USB 3.0 External HDD Review

Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2TB USB 3.0 External HDD Review
We look at the new 2TB Backup Plus Slim from Seagate. Are you on the market for a USB 3.0 backup solution? This could be what you're looking for. (NASDAQ:STX)
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Apr 4, 2014 2:03 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Seagate

TweakTown image content/6/2/6217_99_seagate_backup_plus_slim_2tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.png

 

Small form factor storage solutions come in handy for those that want to backup multiple computers or, in modern times, mobile devices such as tablets and smartphones. Additionally, these devices allow you to take your files with you no matter where your travels may take you.

 

The Seagate Backup Plus Slim is one such solution coming in 500GB to 2TB capacities featuring USB 3.0 connectivity. In addition to this, we have Seagate's Dashboard software that allows you to configure and schedule backups of your PCs and mobile devices. Compatibility of the Backup Plus Slim extends to Microsoft Windows XP, Vista, 7, and 8 along with OS X 10.6+. MSRP for the 2TB version in-house today is set at $149.99 with a two year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6217_02_seagate_backup_plus_slim_2tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery for the Backup Plus Slim includes the USB 3.0 cable and reading materials.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6217_03_seagate_backup_plus_slim_2tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.jpg

 

Our sample of the Backup Plus Slim was delivered in the blue color scheme. There are additional colors available, including black, red, and silver.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6217_04_seagate_backup_plus_slim_2tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.jpg

 

On the edge of the enclosure, you will find the USB 3.0 connection.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6217_05_seagate_backup_plus_slim_2tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.jpg

 

Like the Backup Plus Fast, this solution also uses the Samsung M9T 2TB hard drive.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6217_11_seagate_backup_plus_slim_2tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.png

 

Above, we find ourselves on the landing menu with a full array of options available.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6217_12_seagate_backup_plus_slim_2tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.png

 

Next we have the option to setup a backup plan for the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6217_13_seagate_backup_plus_slim_2tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.png

 

There is the additional option of setting up mobile backup via logging into a Seagate Account and using the mobile app.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6217_15_seagate_backup_plus_slim_2tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.png

 

Here we have the settings menu that allows you to keep the Dashboard software up to date.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6217_16_seagate_backup_plus_slim_2tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.png

 

Above, we have our first set of results from sequential testing. Here we have the Backup Plus Slim reaching 127 MB/s read.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6217_17_seagate_backup_plus_slim_2tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.png

 

Write speeds for the Backup Plus Slim come in at 125 MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6217_18_seagate_backup_plus_slim_2tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.png

 

Price/Performance has the Backup Plus Slim as more value for your money over the larger capacity Backup Plus Fast by just 7 percent.

 

The Seagate Backup Plus Slim with its array of color options and use of aluminum strikes me as a well-built drive. I would say, though, that the aluminum top plate does offer less protection for your drive if you were to drop it than would the Backup Plus Fast and its hard plastic shell.

 

Performance of the unit was inline with expectations, coming right inline with previously tested drives. However, the capacity of this unit should set itself apart in today's market. In our testing, we were able to touch 125 MB/s read and write, which puts this in the top two on our charts, right next to its big brother, the Backup Plus Fast.

 

MSRP of the 2TB Seagate Backup Plus Slim is set at $149.99 with a two-year warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the Seagate Backup Plus Slim (2TB) for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The Seagate Backup Plus Slim (2TB) retails for $104.09 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The Seagate Backup Plus Slim (2TB) retails for CDN$119.99 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/2/6217_1234_seagate_backup_plus_slim_2tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/2/6217_100_seagate_backup_plus_slim_2tb_usb_3_0_external_hdd_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases