TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,009 Reviews & Articles | 38,768 News Posts

Cooler Master Elite 110 Mini-ITX Chassis Review - Build and Finished Product

Cooler Master Elite 110 Mini-ITX Chassis Review
Cooler Master releases the smallest Elite chassis to date. It's time to look at the Elite 110. Follow on as Chad tells us all about this small new case.
| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 3, 2014 2:08 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6209_25_cooler_master_elite_110_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once we had the motherboard in, we pre-wired everything; since we have a modular PSU and a short cable kit, this is easy to do. This is also the last chance we get to see most of this as very soon we will have to install the PSU over the motherboard, which is why there is the 76mm restriction of CPU cooler height.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6209_26_cooler_master_elite_110_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since we had no plans to use the top storage plate, and we don't care to pull against the stock CPU cooler, we have installed the PSU fan-side up to allow it to draw its air from the top of the chassis. We can also start to see how the holes in the front line up to wiring giving an option to route them there.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6209_27_cooler_master_elite_110_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

We installed a drive at the top of the left side of this build for two reasons. It is out of the way if we need to access other components later, and using the top slot allows the CPU cooler to draw air in through the side venting in the door.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6209_28_cooler_master_elite_110_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Even without a rear I/O plate for this board, we did test the fit, and everything is fine there. The PSU slides right in with no issues with the fan grill. Since we did not have the newer tiny cards, we left the expansion slot covers in place.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6209_29_cooler_master_elite_110_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

If you want to try to swap out memory or need fast access to remove a wire from a fan, this side is where you have the best chance. Mostly unimpeded, this side allows the CPU cooler to draw in air from this side once the panels have been placed back on the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6209_30_cooler_master_elite_110_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

With no optical bay and no windows, what we got out of the box is what we see now. While we usually like to get a view of the components, with this small of a design and the orientation of the motherboard, all we would see would be the VGA, if we used one; the clean look we get is pleasing as well.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6209_31_cooler_master_elite_110_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once we fired up the rig and were getting the testing under way, we see that the logo on the front lights up blue, and we were able to catch the red HDD activity light as well. More importantly, the chassis fan will get up into the 40 dB noise level, but the components were very cool considering the compact nature of this design.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases