TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,250 Reviews & Articles | 40,790 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Cyanogen CEO: "Samsung couldn't build a good OS if they tried"

LSI MegaRAID SAS3 9361-8i 12Gb/s RAID Controller Review - Benchmarks - RAID 5 8k Random Read/Write

LSI MegaRAID SAS3 9361-8i 12Gb/s RAID Controller Review
LSI's long-awaited 12Gb/s RAID controllers have finally arrived. Today Paul takes the 9361-8i out for a spin with the fastest 12Gb/s SSDs available. (NASDAQ:LSI)
| RAID/HBA in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Mar 25, 2014 9:47 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: LSI

RAID 5 8k Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6199_45_lsi_megaraid_sas3_9361_8i_12gb_s_raid_controller_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6199_46_lsi_megaraid_sas3_9361_8i_12gb_s_raid_controller_review.png

 

The 9361-8i tops out at 508,572 IOPS at 256 OIO, while the ASR-8885 reaches 538,099.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6199_47_lsi_megaraid_sas3_9361_8i_12gb_s_raid_controller_review.png

 

The 9361-8i provides lower latency at 8-128 OIO, but it loses the lead at 256 OIO.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6199_48_lsi_megaraid_sas3_9361_8i_12gb_s_raid_controller_review.png

 

The 9361-8i takes the lead in 8k random write testing with an average of 41,802 IOPS at 128 OIO. The ASR-8885 peaks at 64 OIO with 29,490 IOPS, but it falls significantly under higher load.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6199_49_lsi_megaraid_sas3_9361_8i_12gb_s_raid_controller_review.png

 

The 9361-8i provides lower latency during the test.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6199_50_lsi_megaraid_sas3_9361_8i_12gb_s_raid_controller_review.png

 

The mixed workload testing shows the cliff both controllers experience when we mix in a 10 percent write workload, though the ASR-8885 falls lower than the 9361-8i. The 9361-8i leads this test with the exception of the pure read workload.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6199_51_lsi_megaraid_sas3_9361_8i_12gb_s_raid_controller_review.png

 

We observed the same performance trend from the ASR-8885 in our mixed workload testing. The same latency penalty is incurred as we mix in more write activity, reaching 16ms with a 90 percent write workload.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases