TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,136 Reviews & Articles | 39,421 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

LSI MegaRAID SAS3 9361-8i 12Gb/s RAID Controller Review - Benchmarks - RAID 5 4k Random Read/Write

LSI MegaRAID SAS3 9361-8i 12Gb/s RAID Controller Review
LSI's long-awaited 12Gb/s RAID controllers have finally arrived. Today Paul takes the 9361-8i out for a spin with the fastest 12Gb/s SSDs available. (NASDAQ:LSI)
| RAID/HBA in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Mar 25, 2014 9:47 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: LSI

RAID 5 4k Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6199_38_lsi_megaraid_sas3_9361_8i_12gb_s_raid_controller_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6199_39_lsi_megaraid_sas3_9361_8i_12gb_s_raid_controller_review.png

 

We notice much more differentiation between the two controllers in RAID 5 testing, especially in write workloads. We start with a 4k random read workload that the ASR-8885 leads with an outstanding average of 685,760 IOPS at 256 OIO. The 9361-8i averages 557,037 IOPS at the highest workloads, but it again exhibits solid scaling at the lower-end.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6199_40_lsi_megaraid_sas3_9361_8i_12gb_s_raid_controller_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6199_41_lsi_megaraid_sas3_9361_8i_12gb_s_raid_controller_review.png

 

The 9361-8i tops out at 48,554 IOPS at 128 OIO and then slows down to 45,639 IOPS at 256 OIO. The ASR-8885 reaches its peak of 31,057 at 32 OIO and then drops rapidly to a low of 22,929 at 256 OIO. While both controllers exhibit performance degradation at the highest loading, the LSI weathers the slight dip easily. The ASR-8885 has more profound degradation with heavy write performance scaling.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6199_42_lsi_megaraid_sas3_9361_8i_12gb_s_raid_controller_review.png

 

The latency measurements reflect a nearly 2X advantage for the 9361-8i at 256 OIO.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6199_43_lsi_megaraid_sas3_9361_8i_12gb_s_raid_controller_review.png

 

Write performance scales as we would expect in this test for the 9361-8i. The ASR-8885 leads with a pure read workload, but it hits a massive cliff when we mix in a light 10 percent write workload. The ASR-8885 cedes the rest of the test to the 9361-8i as we mix in more write activity. Even the slightest of write workloads knocks the ASR-8885 off its perch atop the read chart.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6199_44_lsi_megaraid_sas3_9361_8i_12gb_s_raid_controller_review.png

 

We normally do not present some test results, especially if they seem repetitive. We record latency during our mixed workloads, but for simplicities sake, we do not report on 'expected' results.

 

However, the odd behavior of the ASR-8885 deserves investigation. The LSI plateaus at a 20 percent write workload and is fairly even for the remainder of the test. The ASR-8885 continues to experience increasing latency as we mix in more writes, topping out at a staggering 15.43ms with a 90 percent write workload. We repeated these tests several times to confirm that the results are repeatable.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases