TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,493 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Rosewill RSV-Z2600 2U Rackmount Server Chassis Review - Rosewill RSV-Z2600 Rackmount Case

Rosewill RSV-Z2600 2U Rackmount Server Chassis Review
Our NAS / SAN test lab is growing quickly! To keep our systems orderly, we place servers in rackmount cases - enter the RSV-Z2600 2U chassis from Rosewill.
| Racks & Cases in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Mar 28, 2014 1:41 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Rosewill

Rosewill RSV-Z2600 Rackmount Case

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6197_06_rosewill_rsv_z2600_3u_rackmount_server_chassis_review.png

 

Here we get our first look at the RSV-Z2600. The case has two USB 2.0 ports, a pair of LEDs, a reset button, and power button on the front, but that's it. Most systems built-in this type of case are used for communication purposes, such as routers.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6197_07_rosewill_rsv_z2600_3u_rackmount_server_chassis_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6197_08_rosewill_rsv_z2600_3u_rackmount_server_chassis_review.png

 

The power supply side had a vent cut into the side of the case. The power supply can install leaving a little room for air to flow in or out of the system here, or you can place the PSU right against the side of the case, which blocks this vent off.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6197_09_rosewill_rsv_z2600_3u_rackmount_server_chassis_review.png

 

Four screws hold the top of the case on. The screws are on the side instead of the back. The case is only a half depth case, so it's light enough to use without rails, but that also means to get inside you'll need to remove the whole case from the rack. The front rack ears are strong enough to support the weight of the case, but we recommend using a lighter power supply and not a big heavy enthusiast style PSU.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6197_10_rosewill_rsv_z2600_3u_rackmount_server_chassis_review.png

 

Another vent near the CPU helps to keep the system cool.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6197_11_rosewill_rsv_z2600_3u_rackmount_server_chassis_review.png

 

The system can only use up to a micro-ATX or smaller motherboard, but it does accept a full size power supply. There are a handful of very good micro-ATX motherboards on the market, and most are very stable for communication appliance use. We're using something a little different for this build, though, since we're trying to keep power consumption as low as possible.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6197_12_rosewill_rsv_z2600_3u_rackmount_server_chassis_review.png

 

The top of the case has another vent that's just above the power supply. It's not a problem if you plan to use this case in the top of the rack like we plan to. If you plan to stack cases on top of each other, you will need to choose your power supply carefully. If stacking cases, then your power supply will need to pull cool air in from the front and not the top of the power supply.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases