TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,981 Reviews & Articles | 38,646 News Posts

Lian Li PC-A79 Full-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Final Product

Lian Li PC-A79 Full-Tower Chassis Review

Chad takes a look at the large, new Lian Li PC-A79 full-tower chassis. Read his review to find out what he thought of it.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 25, 2014 2:08 pm
TweakTown Rating: 98%      Manufacturer: Lian Li

The Build and Final Product

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_30_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

To get the build under way, we removed the motherboard tray and went ahead and mounted up everything we could before sliding it back into the chassis. We could also have connected the wiring as well, but this is much easier to slide in without them, and there is plenty of room to do it inside.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_31_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The wiring is all contained in the chassis and allows the front trim ring to come off clean. It is then we gain access to the removable bay covers, and we took out one at the top for the DVD drive, and we removed some at the bottom to show the fans there as well.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_32_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With everything all back in place, and the DVD drive installed at the top, the mesh is one solid, unbroken section and allows the ventilation, and the looks, not to be changed much at all.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_33_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once the tray was slid in and mounted to the rest of the chassis, we wired it up and slid in an HDD near the top of the racks. We were able to hide what wiring we wanted to, and the chassis leaves a lot of optional space for water cooling bits when using an ATX motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_34_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Everything is as we would expect beck here. The dust shield snapped right into place, and it seems we may be video card deficient for this chassis, but the one lone card slid in easily and is very secure under the thumbscrews. The PSU also installs with nothing worthwhile to discuss.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_35_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the tray, you can run the wiring anywhere you want to. With various notches cut in the side of the main wire trunk, they can come out where they are needed and connect to the board. The PSU wiring just runs out the large gap at the bottom and runs behind all the framing and still causes no issues with the side panel.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_36_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once we had everything ready to go and just about ready to kick off the testing, we snapped this image of the PC-A79. There is a ton of brushed aluminum to look at, and the chassis just screams sleek elegance from the moment you first see it to when it is ready to go as we are now.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_37_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Besides the obvious hum of the fans inside the chassis, which were running with 12V to them and pumping out 47 dB of noise from the chassis, the other way to tell if it is on is by looking at the top right corner of the front bezel. It is there that there is a blue LED that is always-on when the system is powered, and the red LED below it is on only when the HDD is in use.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases