TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,975 Reviews & Articles | 38,603 News Posts

Lian Li PC-A79 Full-Tower Chassis Review - Inside the PC-A79

Lian Li PC-A79 Full-Tower Chassis Review

Chad takes a look at the large, new Lian Li PC-A79 full-tower chassis. Read his review to find out what he thought of it.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 1, 1970 12:00 am
TweakTown Rating: 98%      Manufacturer: Lian Li

Inside the PC-A79

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_14_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

First, we should show the pair of fans inside of the left door panel and how well they are wired to keep this from being damaged. As the wire moves from the fan to the connection, we see a Y-splitter that is connected to both fans and terminates in a four pin clip that connects to another inside of the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_15_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As we peek inside for the first time--we already found the paperwork outside--we see the hardware strapped to the bottom of the motherboard tray. We also see the wiring is laying on the bottom of the chassis, but it is placed behind the tray for transport.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_16_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

There are four tool-less latches to hold in drives to the top four 5.25-inch bays on this chassis. The other side will require screws, but, unless you plan to travel with this chassis, the clips are solid enough for basic usage.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_17_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The lower nine 5.25-inch bays have these three racks installed. Each has a fan and can house three 3.5-inch drives. These bays also use grommets to slide the drives in and have the slide bar locking system to keep them from coming out when not intended.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_18_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

This connection is what powers the fans in the door and can be found low on the front rail of the chassis. This is so every time you want inside of the chassis you don't accidentally yank on the fan wiring; instead, the door is free to come off even with power to the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_19_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Looking out of the top of the chassis, we see that Lian Li has left just enough aluminum to be structurally solid. This allows either 120mm fans or 140mm fans to have very free exhausts as the air flows right out the top.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_20_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

This motherboard tray will, of course, slide out, but we can see a good distance to the top of the chassis for radiators. We see one large CPU access hole and eight management holes with grommets but nothing yet as far as wire tie points.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_21_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The floor of the chassis has rails with rubber strips on them to support the PSU. In front of that, there is a plate screwed to the floor that will allow for a pair of 2.5-inch drives to slide in using the grommets and screws provided in the hardware.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_22_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The back of the chassis houses the exhaust fan with a 3-pin connection for power, and we can also see the bright blue thumbscrews used to secure expansion cards and these covers.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_23_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the tray, we now see why there aren't extra tie points; the plan here is to run them in the groove down to where they need to go and then shoot across the back to make the connection after going through one of the grommets. There is room to run extra wiring from top to bottom as well, and that is something that Lian Li has been getting better with.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6185_24_lian_li_pc_a79_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As for the wiring, there are a bunch of 3-pin fan connections to make, the front switch and LED wiring, two USB 3.0 connections, the HD Audio connection, and the e-SATA connection. All come in black sleeves.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases