TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,927 Reviews & Articles | 38,179 News Posts

Netgear Nighthawk R7000 AC1900 Smart Wi-Fi Router Review - Management GUI

Netgear Nighthawk R7000 AC1900 Smart Wi-Fi Router Review

Netgear launches their top-tier wireless solution called the Nighthawk R7000 AC1900 Smart Wi-Fi router, but is the world ready for it? Let's see. (NASDAQ:NTGR)

| Routers & Access Points in Networking | Posted: Mar 22, 2014 4:54 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: Netgear

Management GUI

 

Before we hit the images of the management GUI, I have some images of the Netgear Genie App for iOS.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6182_15_netgear_nighthawk_r7000_ac1900_smart_wi_fi_router_review.png

 

The first of the two landing screens for the Netgear Genie app includes features allowing you to manage wireless settings, parental controls, and even a network map and traffic meter.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6182_16_netgear_nighthawk_r7000_ac1900_smart_wi_fi_router_review.png

 

The second screen has the router reboot button and turbo transfer app.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6182_17_netgear_nighthawk_r7000_ac1900_smart_wi_fi_router_review.png

 

Along with the Traffic Meter, the Network Map is one of the more useful features of the Genie App. Here you can see a list of currently connected devices that are further categorized by the connection type.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6182_20_netgear_nighthawk_r7000_ac1900_smart_wi_fi_router_review.png

 

The landing menu for the Nighthawk includes the option for easy setup, what Netgear calls Genie.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6182_21_netgear_nighthawk_r7000_ac1900_smart_wi_fi_router_review.png

 

Basic setup landing shows you a quick view of what's going on in your network. As you can see, the wireless password scrolls across the top while we have parental control readily available as well.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6182_22_netgear_nighthawk_r7000_ac1900_smart_wi_fi_router_review.png

 

The Basic wireless menu allows you to change the SSID of your networks along with passwords and connection speeds.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6182_23_netgear_nighthawk_r7000_ac1900_smart_wi_fi_router_review.png

 

The attached devices tab shows you currently connected devices.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6182_24_netgear_nighthawk_r7000_ac1900_smart_wi_fi_router_review.png

 

Next we have the ReadyShare menu tab where you can configure printers connected via USB for sharing along with storage.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6182_25_netgear_nighthawk_r7000_ac1900_smart_wi_fi_router_review.png

 

Of course, no modern day router is complete without a guest network.

 

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6182_26_netgear_nighthawk_r7000_ac1900_smart_wi_fi_router_review.png

 

The advanced landing menu gives you slightly more information at a glance.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6182_28_netgear_nighthawk_r7000_ac1900_smart_wi_fi_router_review.png

 

Here we have one of the more unique features of the R7000, the traffic meter. Within this menu, you can setup your router to monitor the outgoing or incoming traffic, and, for those that have data caps imposed, you can have the router change the LED color on the top when you near or hit your limit. You can also setup the router to kill Internet access if you happen to hit your limit.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases