TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,201 Reviews & Articles | 40,021 News Posts

WD Xe 10k SAS 2.5-inch Enterprise HDD Review - 4k Random Read/Write

WD Xe 10k SAS 2.5-inch Enterprise HDD Review
WD's Xe provides high-density performance storage for demanding applications. We take a closer look at how it competes with other 10k HDD solutions. (NASDAQ:WDC)
| HDDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Mar 21, 2014 2:05 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: WD

4k Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6180_11_wd_xe_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

Each QD for every parameter tested includes 300 data points (five minutes of one second reports) to illustrate the degree of performance variability. The line for each QD represents the average speed reported during the five-minute interval.

 

4k random speed measurements are an important metric when comparing drive performance as the hardest type of file access for any storage solution to master is small-file random. One of the most sought-after performance specifications, 4k random performance is a heavily marketed figure.

 

The WD Xe provides 402 4k random read IOPS at QD256. The Toshiba AL13SE averages 394 IOPS, while the Seagate v7 leads the heavy 4k read workload with an average of 410 IOPS at QD256.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6180_12_wd_xe_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The WD Xe doesn't provide as robust performance with lower thread counts, but it rises to the challenge as the load intensifies with an average of 402 IOPS at QD256. This trails the AL13SE's 380 IOPS and the v7, which averages 365 IOPS.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6180_13_wd_xe_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

Our write percentage testing illustrates the varying performance of each solution with mixed workloads. The 100 percent column to the right is a pure write workload of the 4k file size, and 0 percent represents a pure 4k read workload.

 

The Xe starts out well with a heavy read workload but slows as we mix in more write activity.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6180_14_wd_xe_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The WD Xe delivers more commands within a lower latency range than the other drives, but it unfortunately also has a number of operations dispersed within the higher latency ranges, muddying the performance picture.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6180_15_wd_xe_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

We record the power consumption measurements during our test run at QD256.

 

The WD Xe really leads in this test by a large margin with a very conservative power draw of 5.76 watts. The AL13SE pulls 6.78 watts during the measurement window, slightly higher than the v7, which averaged 6.88W.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6180_16_wd_xe_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6180_17_wd_xe_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

 

 

IOPS to Watts measurements are generated from data recorded during our test. The WD Xe tops both IOPS to Watts charts, highlighting that even with its lower write performance, it can deliver excellent efficiency.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases