TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,932 Reviews & Articles | 38,213 News Posts

Crucial M550 128GB SSD Review - Crucial M550 128GB SSD

Crucial M550 128GB SSD Review

Crucial's M550 addresses issues that plagued the M500, such as performance. Read on as Chris tells us all about the new 128GB SSD model. (NASDAQ:MU)

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Mar 19, 2014 11:07 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: Crucial

Crucial M550 128GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6177_03_crucial_m550_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

We're breezing through some of the product images today since the M550 is a 'drive only' kit. It does includes a 7mm to 9.5mm adapter bracket.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6177_04_crucial_m550_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6177_05_crucial_m550_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6177_06_crucial_m550_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we see the actual drive. Crucial has always swapped the label sides. The shiny sticker is on the bottom of the drive, and the information sticker is on what we associate with the top. Inside the case, the drive is also flipped around. This allows Crucial to put the controller facing the case side with more mass. This aids in cooling the controller and the DRAM next to the controller.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6177_07_crucial_m550_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6177_08_crucial_m550_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

As mentioned, Crucial includes a bracket that gives the 7mm drive full 9.5mm height. This is used in some drive cages designed for 9.5mm z-height and some notebook drive cages. The 7mm standard is commonly found in Ultrabook designs where 9.5mm drives will not fit.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6177_09_crucial_m550_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6177_10_crucial_m550_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Inside, we found a Marvell controller, a single Micron DRAM package to cache table data, and sixteen NAND flash packages, eight on each side.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6177_11_crucial_m550_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6177_12_crucial_m550_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The Marvell 88SS9189 is a faster version of the 88SS9187 used in the M500.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6177_13_crucial_m550_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Crucial used Micron 20nm flash.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6177_14_crucial_m550_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Crucial also used Micron DRAM. In this image, you can also see a bank of capacitors used for host power fail protection. This allows the data passing through the controller to write to the flash in a power fail event.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases