TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,007 Reviews & Articles | 38,761 News Posts

Toshiba AL13SE Series 10k SAS 2.5-inch Enterprise HDD Review - 4k Random Read/Write

Toshiba AL13SE Series 10k SAS 2.5-inch Enterprise HDD Review
Paul takes a close look at the Toshiba AL13SE series, a mainstay in the datacenter for high performance and mission-critical workloads. (TYO:6502)
| HDDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Mar 19, 2014 2:05 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Toshiba

4k Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6175_11_toshiba_al13se_series_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

Each queue depth (QD) for every parameter tested includes 300 data points (five minutes of one second reports) to illustrate the degree of performance variability. The line for each QD represents the average speed reported during the five-minute interval.

 

4k random speed measurements are an important metric when comparing drive performance as the hardest type of file access for any storage solution to master is small-file random. One of the most sought-after performance specifications, 4k random performance, is a heavily marketed figure.

 

The Toshiba AL13SE averages 394 IOPS, while the Seagate v7 leads the heavy 4k read workload with an average of 410 IOPS at QD256.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6175_12_toshiba_al13se_series_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The AL13SE averages 380 IOPS at QD256 to take the lead, while the v7 averages 365 IOPS.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6175_13_toshiba_al13se_series_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

Our write percentage testing illustrates the varying performance of each solution with mixed workloads. The 100 percent column to the right is a pure write workload of the 4k file size; 0 percent represents a pure 4k read workload.

 

The AL13SE slightly trails the v7 from 0-20 percent but takes the lead as we mix in a heavier write workload.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6175_14_toshiba_al13se_series_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The AL13SE provides more commands in the 60-80ms range than the v7 in this heavy write workload.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6175_15_toshiba_al13se_series_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

We record the power consumption measurements during our test run at QD256.

 

The AL13SE pulls 6.78 watts during the measurement window, just slightly higher than the v7, which averaged 6.88W.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6175_16_toshiba_al13se_series_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6175_17_toshiba_al13se_series_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

IOPS to Watts measurements are generated from data recorded during our test. The AL13SE leans on its ever-so-slightly lower power consumption and faster write speed to deliver more IOPS per Watt in the 4k random write workload, and the roles reverse with the v7 taking the lead in the read category.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases