TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,091 Reviews & Articles | 39,114 News Posts

Netgear ProSAFE XS708E 10 Gigabit Switch Review - Netgear ProSAFE XS708E

Netgear ProSAFE XS708E 10 Gigabit Switch Review
Today Chris takes a close look at the new Netgear ProSAFE XS708E. It's a fast 10 Gigabit switch which you could consider if upgrading your network.
| Network Switches in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Mar 11, 2014 2:11 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: Netgear

Netgear ProSAFE XS708E

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6134_07_netgear_prosafe_xs708e_10_gigabit_switch_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Netgear ProSAFE XS708E. There are eight 10GBase-T RJ45 ports and one SFP+ port shared with last RJ45 port.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6134_08_netgear_prosafe_xs708e_10_gigabit_switch_review.jpg

 

Status LEDs indicate power and, in the event of a failure, the fan status. Just below, we found a recessed factory default button.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6134_09_netgear_prosafe_xs708e_10_gigabit_switch_review.jpg

 

The port configuration is straightforward. There are eight RJ45 ports, with the last being shared with an SFP+ port. You can run an SFP+ to an optical fiber adapter or a Twinax cable. We tested an Intel SFP+ optical from an Intel X520-SR2 and it worked as expected.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6134_10_netgear_prosafe_xs708e_10_gigabit_switch_review.jpg

 

The back of the switch has a Kensington lock adapter, the power plug connector, and a sticker that shows the serial and MAC address numbers.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6134_11_netgear_prosafe_xs708e_10_gigabit_switch_review.jpg

 

[img]12[/img]

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6134_13_netgear_prosafe_xs708e_10_gigabit_switch_review.jpg

 

Air flows from the left side of the case and exhausts on the right side.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6134_14_netgear_prosafe_xs708e_10_gigabit_switch_review.jpg

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases