TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,453 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

be quiet! Dark Rock 3 CPU Cooler Review - be quiet! Dark Rock 3 CPU Cooler

be quiet! Dark Rock 3 CPU Cooler Review
We have seen the third-generation Dark Rock Pro cooler, but now we have a look at the single tower design in the Dark Rock 3 from be quiet!
| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 14, 2014 2:13 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: be quiet!

be quiet! Dark Rock 3 CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6131_07_be_quiet_dark_rock_3_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the Dark Rock 3 now out of the box, we can take a tour around it and see what this design has to offer. From the front, there is not much else to see at the moment other than the 135mm SilentWings fan attached to it with its 4-pin plug at the bottom of this image.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6131_08_be_quiet_dark_rock_3_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Removing the fan exposed the leading edge design of the stack of fifty fins. We can see that the sides are higher than the fins in the center, and each fin has a saw toothed design on the edge.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6131_09_be_quiet_dark_rock_3_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The top of the cooler offers a stepped, black brushed aluminum cap that covers the top fin as well as offering black caps for all of the heat pipe tips. This, along with the name applied to the center, gives this cooler a sleek and stylish view as you would see it in a chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6131_10_be_quiet_dark_rock_3_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Looking at the Dark Rock 3 from the right side, we see this design uses an open fin design with small tabs bent to keep the fin spacing correct. We also see that the fan is attached with wire fan clips that mount to grooves in the sides of these fins.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6131_11_be_quiet_dark_rock_3_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The back of the cooler is a fair bit unusual in its design. Offsetting the fins in groups of three does not do all that much for the airflow coming from the front fan, but, if adding a second fan, this allows room for that fan to get to full pressure and airflow.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6131_12_be_quiet_dark_rock_3_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The left side of the Dark Rock 3 is the same as what we saw on the right, as we expected it to be.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6131_13_be_quiet_dark_rock_3_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

In this image, we can see the dimples applied to the fins to help disturb the air flow as it passes through the cooler's fins, but we can also see that there are six heat pipes that are packed tightly together at the base and spreading out evenly and in two lines as they run through all of the fins.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6131_14_be_quiet_dark_rock_3_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

It isn't all that often that we see single tower cooler designs with such a large pre-cooler. In this example, be quiet! has incorporated this fifty tab pre-cooler to help rid this cooler of a fair bit of heat before it is taken up into the fins for removal.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6131_15_be_quiet_dark_rock_3_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

As for the base, just like with the rest of the cooler body, after it has been milled to accept the hardware, and the base is milled to this near mirror finish, it all received dark nickel plating. The base is very level across most of the mating surface, but the corners are slightly rounded.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases