TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,197 Reviews & Articles | 39,986 News Posts

Corsair Hydro Series H105 Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler Review - Corsair Hydro Series H105 Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler

Corsair Hydro Series H105 Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler Review
It's time to look at the newest AIO from Corsair. This time we have optional color choices, and a whole lot of great performance.
| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 5, 2014 7:12 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Corsair

Corsair Hydro Series H105 Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6122_08_corsair_hydro_series_h105_extreme_performance_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Fresh out of the box, we can now see the majority of the H105, sans the fans. Aside from the much longer radiator this time around, upon first glance, we see the same head unit, mounting, and tubing that we found in the H75.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6122_09_corsair_hydro_series_h105_extreme_performance_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The top of the head unit offers two things. One of them is, of course, the Corsair name and logo, but it is also backlit with white LEDs. The second thing of note is that the grey, brushed-looking plastic ring is replaceable with two options of colored rings that come with the rest of the hardware.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6122_10_corsair_hydro_series_h105_extreme_performance_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

We see angled plastic fittings coming out of the side to allow the coolant in and out of the head unit to flow across the micro-fins on the coldplate, and just off to the right is where the three wire connection comes from to power the pump and LEDs.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6122_11_corsair_hydro_series_h105_extreme_performance_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

After removing the plastic cup that protects the thermal paste, we see it covers more than the mating area of any processor's IHS. You will also see that the Intel hardware is installed, and the snap ring is clipped in place to secure that bracket to the head unit. AMD users will need to change this.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6122_12_corsair_hydro_series_h105_extreme_performance_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Since we do not test with the supplied paste anyways, we removed it to have a look at the finish of the base. The plate sits higher in the middle and has round milling grooves still left in the finish.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6122_13_corsair_hydro_series_h105_extreme_performance_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Stepping back to take a look at the tubing length, while currently curving a fair bit from being packaged like it is, when extended, we found the tubing to be 12.5 inches from connection to connection.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6122_14_corsair_hydro_series_h105_extreme_performance_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

As the tubing reaches the aluminium radiator that has been painted black, we find the low-evaporation tubing is forced over a barbed fitting, and a plastic ring then keeps the tubing on the fitting.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6122_15_corsair_hydro_series_h105_extreme_performance_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The 240mm radiator uses the same high FPI radiator that we have seen from the two suppliers for years, and as we counted a random inch of fins in this, we found the count to be 22 fins per inch. Good thing we have high airflow and high static pressure fans supplied with this.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6122_16_corsair_hydro_series_h105_extreme_performance_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This sticker is more for reference and product tracking purposes, but off to the right in tiny print, we can also see that the total wattage taken from the pump at 12V is down to 3.9W now.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6122_17_corsair_hydro_series_h105_extreme_performance_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

While the idea is not new to rivet a side plate onto the radiator, there seems to be a larger offset this time. The spacing between the fins and the fans has increased by a millimeter or so from other dual-radiator designs. This should also help the efficiency of airflow and allow for a bit more pressure to build before the air is run through the fins.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases