TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,013 Reviews & Articles | 38,785 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

Cherry MX-Board 3.0 Mechanical Keyboard Review - Cherry MX-Board 3.0 Mechanical Keyboard

Cherry MX-Board 3.0 Mechanical Keyboard Review
A whole new perspective on mechanical keyboards has arrived with a slimmed down and lightweight offering from Cherry. Chad tells us all about it.
| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Mar 4, 2014 11:07 pm
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: Cherry

Cherry MX-Board 3.0 Mechanical Keyboard

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6121_08_cherry_mx_board_3_0_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Fresh out of the box, we see that the laser etching on the key caps is bright and easy to see; in fact, it is nearly as bright as the white paint used for the logo at the top and the keyboard name at the bottom. Note: this is their 108-key US layout backed with Cherry MX red switches.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6121_09_cherry_mx_board_3_0_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

To give an idea of what we are dealing with, the front edge measures 18mm in height to the top of the frame and 20mm to the top of the key caps there. At the back, including the red feet and the key caps, the MX-Board 3.0 sits at 28mm in height.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6121_10_cherry_mx_board_3_0_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The left side of the board offers a standard 74-key layout with a font on the caps that is easy to read. There are no special profile or macro keys, but that doesn't mean it cannot work for gaming.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6121_11_cherry_mx_board_3_0_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Typically, here we would see 30 keys and a logo in the right corner, but with the MX-Board 3.0, the name is in the center, and they have added buttons for volume control as well as an Internet home page button that doubles as a Windows button lockout.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6121_12_cherry_mx_board_3_0_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Each of the key caps is single shot in black textured plastic and is then laser etched so the legends will never wear off. Not only are the caps cylindrical in shape, it is easy to see that these are much shorter in height than any others we have reviewed before.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6121_13_cherry_mx_board_3_0_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

If the legs under the keyboard are extended, it then increases the angle of attack, but on the technical side, the keyboard now stands 38mm from table to the top of the frame.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6121_14_cherry_mx_board_3_0_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

As we can easily see, all of the caps are backed with Cherry MX red switches. We also noticed that the tension bars that keep the larger keys even in travel, no matter where the key is pressed, are built into the frame and makes the caps much easier to remove for cleaning.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases