TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,248 Reviews & Articles | 40,747 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS Workstation (Intel C602) Motherboard Review - BIOS

ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS Workstation (Intel C602) Motherboard Review
When it comes to dual-socket 2011 workstation motherboards, ASUS came up with one of the best you can get. They held back nothing on the Z9PE-D8 WS. (TPE:2357)
| Motherboards in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Mar 4, 2014 3:15 pm
TweakTown Rating: 99%Manufacturer: ASUS

BIOS

 

The BIOS for this motherboard is typical for these motherboards, so we will only show key BIOS screens.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_17_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

This is the main BIOS screen you see when you first enter the BIOS.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_18_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here we see the AI Tweaker tab. Now, this has some very interesting settings compared to other dual-CPU systems we usually use here in the lab.

 

If you set the AI Overclock Tuner function to Manual, you can then change the BCLK Frequency, and the same is true for the CPU Ratio function, which can be set to manual allowing you to change the CPU Multiplier. However, with Xeon CPUs, you will not be able to change the CPU Multiplier.

 

This leaves only the BCLK Frequency that the Z9PE-D8 WS allows you to change. We will have more on this later.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_19_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Under the AI Tweaker menu, we can see the memory timing settings.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_20_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Next is the advanced menu.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_21_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here we see adjustments that are in the CPU configuration.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_22_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The controls that you can change under the CPU power menu.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_23_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here we see additional memory settings that you can adjust.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_24_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here are all the SATA port settings.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_25_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

This is the main USB port setting menu.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_26_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here you can disable USB ports and the controllers.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases