TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,920 Reviews & Articles | 38,141 News Posts

Mach Xtreme SATA DOM MX-DIY Series Review - Packaging and Accessories

Mach Xtreme SATA DOM MX-DIY Series Review

SATA DOMs provide small amounts of storage in high read, low write environments like NAS and embedded systems that require small operating systems.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Mar 3, 2014 11:06 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: Mach Xtreme Technology

Packaging and Accessories

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6118_05_mach_xtreme_sata_dom_mx_diy_series_review.jpg

 

Here, we get our first look Mach Xtreme's MX SATA DOM. This is officially the first DOM we've ever reviewed on TweakTown. As we mentioned in the introduction, it's not like we haven't tried. The Mach Xtreme DOM is actually fast enough to live through our benchmarks.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6118_06_mach_xtreme_sata_dom_mx_diy_series_review.jpg

 

Mach Xtreme also makes a horizontal form factor, but all three of the samples we have on hand are vertical. The vertical drives will not fit in a 1u form factor case if the SATA connectors are also vertical.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6118_07_mach_xtreme_sata_dom_mx_diy_series_review.jpg

 

The drives plug right into a SATA plug on the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6118_08_mach_xtreme_sata_dom_mx_diy_series_review.jpg

 

SATA does not provide power, so you need to power the SATA DOM with either a 4-pin Molex connector, 3-pin fan header, or a special DOM power header on the motherboard. Mach Xtreme only includes a 4-pin Molex power connector in the package.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6118_09_mach_xtreme_sata_dom_mx_diy_series_review.jpg

 

The power cables are very cheap, and the connector is standard, so they are easy to find on Amazon.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6118_10_mach_xtreme_sata_dom_mx_diy_series_review.jpg

 

Our Supermicro 1u system (my future Pfsense router) has a SATA DOM power connector onboard, right next to the SATA connector.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6118_11_mach_xtreme_sata_dom_mx_diy_series_review.jpg

 

Sometimes you want to write data to your SATA DOM, and other times you don't. Flipping the switch on the top of the drive enables write protect mode.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6118_12_mach_xtreme_sata_dom_mx_diy_series_review.jpg

 

Inside the retail package we found a tested paper, the SATA DOM, and a power adapter.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases