TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,249 Reviews & Articles | 40,766 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD Review - the Skulltrail of SSDs? - Intel 730 Series SSD

Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD Review - the Skulltrail of SSDs?
With LSI running late on SF3700, Intel had to reach into the enterprise bin to bring a new performance SSD to market. Let's check out the 730 Series. (NASDAQ:INTC)
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Feb 27, 2014 5:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Intel

Intel 730 Series SSD

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6113_06_intel_730_series_480gb_ssd_review_the_skulltrail_of_ssds.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the new 730 Series with its full enterprise to consumer symbolism. Personally, I like the look. Now, if we could get some David Hunt edition, unlocked 12-core Xeons to go with an array of 730 drives.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6113_07_intel_730_series_480gb_ssd_review_the_skulltrail_of_ssds.jpg

 

Intel lists the serial, model and part numbers on the back of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6113_08_intel_730_series_480gb_ssd_review_the_skulltrail_of_ssds.jpg

 

Although not recommended for notebook use, the 7mm z-height form factor means the 730 Series will fit in height restricted Ultrabooks.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6113_09_intel_730_series_480gb_ssd_review_the_skulltrail_of_ssds.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6113_10_intel_730_series_480gb_ssd_review_the_skulltrail_of_ssds.jpg

 

Inside we found 16 NAND flash packages, two DRAM packages and an Intel controller. At the top of this image, you can also see the two host power loss protection capacitors.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6113_11_intel_730_series_480gb_ssd_review_the_skulltrail_of_ssds.jpg

 

This product has several surface mount components on both sides of the PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6113_12_intel_730_series_480gb_ssd_review_the_skulltrail_of_ssds.jpg

 

We haven't seen an Intel controller for the consumer market for a few years. Intel first chose Marvell for the 510 Series and later SandForce for 520 and 530 at the flagship level. The 530 Series may be the shortest run Intel SSD to date, it seems like I just finished the review a few weeks ago. The performance was less than the 520 it replaced, SF-2200 works with 20nm flash but not as well as it does with 25nm flash.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6113_13_intel_730_series_480gb_ssd_review_the_skulltrail_of_ssds.jpg

 

25nm flash is long gone. Intel started using 20nm NAND flash early 2013.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6113_14_intel_730_series_480gb_ssd_review_the_skulltrail_of_ssds.jpg

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases