TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,491 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

SilverStone Fortress FT04 Full-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

SilverStone Fortress FT04 Full-Tower Chassis Review
SilverStone delivers the latest in the Fortress case series. Let's have a look at the SST-FT04B-W and see what Chad thinks about it.
| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 28, 2014 2:49 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: SilverStone

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_31_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since it only requires the removal of four small screws, we went ahead and pulled the tray to make mounting the motherboard much easier. At this point, you can also add the CPU cooler or the water blocks, but we are ready to continue.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_32_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

After removing the thumbscrews at the back, the top slides to the back and lifts off to expose the deep channel that is the ODD bays and PSU rack.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_33_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

If you plan to use bay devices and an average sized PSU, keep in mind space is limited. Also keep in mind that the bottom of this trench is open, so if you aren't careful, things may be poking out of the bottom.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_34_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the build now finished, we take a spin around the chassis again. We can now see the DVD drive, but once that door is shut, all you get to view is the textured aluminum sleekness of the front door.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_35_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

We removed what wasn't needed (and left things that we thought were more important.), like the hot swap bays for storage space, so we can use the CPU support. The rest of the interior is very clean with minimal wiring exposed, and the GPU support works well and took the angle out of the PCB easily.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_36_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The PSU went in fine, and remember it goes in fan side up. The video card went in easy enough, and the holes came in handy for setting the screws. Also, with the dust shield installed, the motherboard tray lines right up with it when slid back into the frame.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_37_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Too much wiring. While we were able to tame the wiring a bit and have a good looking finished product up front, the amount of wiring left over is almost ridiculous. Fans are cool and all, but did we need three feet of wiring to go what is essentially five inches? Also, the door did go back on without any hassle.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_38_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

At this point, we just took a step back to soak it all in and recall just what the FT04B-W was, and is, in a chassis. It is slick looking when the build is completed, and the view through the window shows off all your hardware and the clean wiring, but none of the mess you don't want to see.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_39_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once we power things up for testing, we see that the power LED is now illuminated blue. While we did miss it in this image, the HDD activity light is also blue, and just as bright. If the fans are set low, this is a very quiet chassis, but when let lose at 12V, that is a whole other story.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases