TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,428 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Cooler Master Elite 130 SFF Chassis Review - Inside the Elite 130

Cooler Master Elite 130 SFF Chassis Review
The Elite 130 hits our labs. Let's check out Cooler Master's idea of what a SFF chassis should be. Bonus is that it sells for a great price.
| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 26, 2014 3:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

Inside the Elite 130

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_13_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Just to get the basic idea of the layout, we snapped this image before doing anything else after removing the one piece lid that is the right, top, and left side of this chassis. We also see the wiring is tied up, and the hardware is tied up to the 5.25" bay.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_14_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing the bezel is easy enough, and we really like that the wiring all stays attached to the frame. Not only can you now see the 120mm intake fan, but the bay cover is not removable externally, so you have to release a pair of tabs inside to pop that out.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_15_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

The optical drive bay is not removable, it will obviously house a 5.25" drive, but we can also see key-holes cut into the floor of it for more storage drive options. They even marked them for SSD and 3.5" next to the appropriate holes.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_16_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

This side of the bay does use a tool-free clip, with a latch that swings to lock and unlock the pins. The other side does require the use of screws, but they are not needed, as this clip is very secure on its own.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_17_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Below the ODD bay, we see the other side of the fan, but we also see the chassis wiring with the fan leads and Molex adapters at the left. We also see the wiring to the right that consists of the USB 3.0 and audio cabling.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_18_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

The floor, just in front of the fan, is also cut identically to what we saw in the ODD bay. So far we have room for four SSDs or two 3.5" drives, whatever fits your build style.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_19_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Further left, we see the flat area designated to house the motherboard. There are only four holes for standoffs since this chassis will only house a Mini-ITX based system.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_20_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

From the inside, we gain better perspective of how deep the PSU adapter is, and we also can see the thumbscrews that hold the covers or cards into the slots, but they are accessible from outside of the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_21_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

The right side of the chassis offers a support wall with holes drilled all over it. Along with the standard pattern, there are also holes to allow either a 2.5" or a 3.5" drive here too, so storage is not an issue no matter your layout, you can find a place to put them. To the right, there is also an 80mm fan in a steel housing, to add forced airflow over the CPU and motherboard heat sinks.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_22_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

The cabling is longer than it needs to be, but not so long that it became a nightmare to deal with. We also liked that all of the wiring is black, and it blended into the build rather well with very little effort involved in managing them.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases