TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,158 Reviews & Articles | 39,568 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

Xigmatek Aquila SFF Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Xigmatek Aquila SFF Chassis Review
Xigmatek puts the team to work looking to put the case company in the running for a SFF chassis with style - the result is the Aquila.
| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 21, 2014 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 72%Manufacturer: Xigmatek

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_26_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

We found it tedious that to remove the sections of the chassis, the feet also have to come off. Two of the screws to remove the Micro-ATX section of the tray are blocked, two of the 2.5" drive rack are blocked, and even the dust filter has to come out awkwardly, just seems like a lot of work.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_27_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Also, I don't know how something like this even made it past the virtual design. The placement of the power plug, and the wiring needed to make it functional are placed in the way of the 5.25" bay. So it is either go drive-less, or break the switch trying to get one in; the choice is yours.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_28_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

They also give you plenty of room to fit in a large power supply, but due to the edge of the tray that runs vertically, they do not allow access to the clips on this modular PSU, and not enough room inside to allow for it to be clipped and run otherwise.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_29_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

While we could have ran to the stock pile and grabbed a fan controller that would sneak around the power switch wiring, we decided to just put the cover back and again address how silly this is. Otherwise, the Aquila looks exactly the same as it did before.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_30_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

We did have to pull out an old classic PSU for the build, but we added water cooling, and removed the ODD bay to allow for the video card, and we managed it all quite easily. I do think that when they address the power button wiring, they also need to move it to the right so that it can be run with the other wiring for a cleaner look.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_31_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

The dust shield snapped right into place, and the PSU went right in with little issue. However, we did have to leave the lock for the slots open. Using the ticker AIO, it was pushing against this non-reference cooler. If we had a stock cooling solution, there would be no issues here.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_32_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

We do get much more of a view of the components inside the chassis from the right side once the build is completed. It would have almost been better if this design had placed the window and I/O on this side instead.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_33_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the chassis all packed pack up and ready to test, we find the chassis has not changed much at all. With the tinted side window, and without any additional lighting added to the inside of the case, even viewing the sticker on the video card is somewhat challenging.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6091_34_xigmatek_aquila_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

We powered the chassis without the fans of the Tundra AIO running, and the rear case fan left us with a reading of 34 dB of noise level at a distance of a foot. Of course, with the Tundra fans powered, this was noisy, as there are no measures taken in the design to help that. There is also a tiny LED lit under the 3.5mm jacks, but you really have to look hard to find it.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases