TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,002 Reviews & Articles | 38,746 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Intel's Core i7-5960X CPU has already been overclocked to 6.2GHz

GIGABYTE Z87X-UD4H (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review - GIGABYTE Z87X-UD4H (Intel Z87) Motherboard

GIGABYTE Z87X-UD4H (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review

Looking for a cheaper Intel Z87 solution? This stylish looking Z87X-UD4H from GIGABYTE could be just what you need. Let's take a look now. (TPE:2376)

| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Feb 17, 2014 2:52 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

GIGABYTE Z87X-UD4H (Intel Z87) Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6079_06_gigabyte_z87x_ud4h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the board, you can see the color scheme is in line with what we saw out of the Z87X-UD5TH, which is, of course, the black and red setup. We've got the nice matte black PCB and red highlights on the heat sinks. Let's move in a bit closer, though, to see just what's going on with the Z87X-UD4H.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6079_07_gigabyte_z87x_ud4h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the expansion slots, you can see we've got a single legacy PCI slot towards the bottom of the board. Along with that, we've got three PCIe x1 slots and three PCIe x16 slots. If you're going to be using just the one video card, then it will run at x16. If you opt for SLI or CrossFire, then both cards will run at 8x. If you opt to use the third slot, then the second and third slot will run at 4x.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6079_08_gigabyte_z87x_ud4h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving to the bottom of the board, you can see the standard line up of headers, including USB 2.0 and USB 3.0, front panel audio, 3-Pin fan, and our main front panel header in the bottom right corner.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6079_09_gigabyte_z87x_ud4h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

As we turn the corner, you can see we've got another 3-Pin fan header and a total of eight SATA ports. The six black SATA ports are all SATA III and run off the Intel Z87 controller. Along with those, we have a further two SATA III ports that are grey. These run off the Marvell 88SE9172 chip. Finally, you can see we've got a SATA power connector towards the top of the ports. While not required, if you're opting for a higher-end CrossFire or SLI setup, you can add the SATA power cable here to make sure that the PCIe slots have more than enough power to run everything.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6079_10_gigabyte_z87x_ud4h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading to the top of the board, you can see all the usual suspects here. We've got four DIMM slots offering support for up to 32GB of DDR3 ranging in speed from 1333MHz DDR3 to 3000MHz DDR3 via overclocking. Under that, we have our LED Debug meter, USB 3.0 header, 3-Pin fan header, and our main 24-Pin ATX power connector. In the top corner, you can see we've got our quick switches, which include a BIOS switch alongside a reset one and a larger power button.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6079_11_gigabyte_z87x_ud4h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6079_12_gigabyte_z87x_ud4h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Like most CPU areas these days, it's a very clean setup. You can also take a closer look at the black and red color scheme with bits of silver. We've become a huge fan of this color scheme from GIGABYTE, and just like the Z87X-UD5TH, it looks great. Towards the top corner of the board, we finish our look with the 8-Pin CPU connector and a 4-Pin CPU fan header.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6079_13_gigabyte_z87x_ud4h_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading over to the I/O side of things, you can see we've got a combo PS/2 port along with six USB 3.0 ports. Video output options come via VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, and DisplayPort, while audio comes via six auxiliary ports and an optical out, all which run off the Realtek ALC898 codec. Finally, we finish off with two eSATA 6GB/s ports that run off the Marvell 88SE9172 chip, and a Gigabit networking port that runs off the Intel chipset.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases