TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,073 Reviews & Articles | 39,007 News Posts

RAVPower Qi-Enabled Wireless Charger Charging Pad Review

RAVPower Qi-Enabled Wireless Charger Charging Pad Review
The Qi wireless charger from RAVPower offers a large surface area for charging your smartphone or tablet, but how well does it work? Let's find out.
| Portable Chargers in Mobile Devices | Posted: Feb 15, 2014 7:29 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: RAVPower

TweakTown image content/6/0/6073_99_ravpower_qi_enabled_wireless_charger_charging_pad_review.png

 

Among the many advances in technology, wireless charging of our mobile devices is one of the greatest to come in the last few years; enabling us to break free of the constant plugging and unplugging of our devices. With many smartphones now coming equipped with, or allowing the technology via add-on back plates, it's time to explore your options.

 

Most manufacturers that allow the use of Qi wireless charging also offer their own competing charging solution. Today, we are looking over the RAVPower Qi Wireless charger. Out of the box, the charger supports all Qi enabled devices, including the Nexus 4, Nexus 5, and the second generation Nexus 7. Additionally, if your phone supports the technology through an optional case or cover, you can throw those devices on the RAVPower as well. MSRP of the RAVPower Qi Wireless Charger is $39.99, with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6073_02_ravpower_qi_enabled_wireless_charger_charging_pad_review.jpg

 

The scope of delivery for the RAVPower includes the USB cable, wall adapter, along with reading materials, and the Qi charging plate.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6073_04_ravpower_qi_enabled_wireless_charger_charging_pad_review.jpg

 

The front edge of the device houses a LED, which indicates your device is charging.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6073_05_ravpower_qi_enabled_wireless_charger_charging_pad_review.jpg

 

The input for the RAVPower features a standard USB mini plug.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6073_03_ravpower_qi_enabled_wireless_charger_charging_pad_review.jpg

 

Above, we compare the size of the RAVPower to the Nokia DT-900. The RAVPower carries a much larger footprint than the Nokia, but is quite a bit slimmer.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

A little over a year ago, I jumped on the bandwagon and purchased my first smartphone. While there were many choices at the time, the Nokia Lumia stood out to me. For one, it is a Windows phone, and since I was already using Windows 8, it offered a similar user experience for me. The second reason it stood out to me was because of a technology I knew little about at the time, Qi wireless charging. After the purchase of my phone, and subsequent purchase of the DT-900 from Nokia, I quickly realized I'd never go back to charging my device via the mini USB port.

 

In my use of the RAVPower Qi Wireless Charger, I was pleasantly surprised with how well it did when compared to the DT-900 I've used for the last year. The build quality of the unit is superb, and the additional surface area of the RAVPower is more than inviting. In addition, the rubber grip in the center of the charger offers a point for you to center your device for charging, and being that the charger lays flat, you need not worry your phone will slide off of the charger.

 

In testing the RAVPower, starting with 10% battery life, I was able to fully charge my phone in just over two hours. One thing I did notice was my phone was quite a bit cooler than it normally is when using the DT-900; I'm assuming this has something to do with the different voltage outputs of the devices. Overall, with the generous surface area and charging capabilities of the RAVPower, it is certainly a great option for those wanting to get into Qi wireless charging.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the RAVPower Qi Wireless Charger for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing, but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The RAVPower Qi Wireless Charger (Black) retails for $35.99 at Amazon, and the RAVPower Qi Wireless Charger (White) retails for $35.00 at Amazon.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/0/6073_1234_ravpower_qi_enabled_wireless_charger_charging_pad_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/0/6073_100_ravpower_qi_enabled_wireless_charger_charging_pad_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Mobile Devices content at our Mobile Devices reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases