TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,935 Reviews & Articles | 38,244 News Posts

ROCCAT Ryos MK Pro Mechanical Gaming Keyboard with Per-Key Illumination Review - Inside the Ryos MK Pro

ROCCAT Ryos MK Pro Mechanical Gaming Keyboard with Per-Key Illumination Review

The Ryos MK Pro has been anticipated since CES 2013, and we finally get a look at what has to be the features king of mechanical keyboards.

| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Feb 11, 2014 3:00 am
TweakTown Rating: 98%      Manufacturer: ROCCAT

Inside the Ryos MK Pro

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_26_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

After opening up the Ryos MK Pro, the Thumbster buttons were the first thing we got into. I really like that they did not opt for membrane switches here, and while they are not mechanical in the truest of senses, the pad style switches do offer a much better feel to them, and is easy to tell they are in use, with an audible click and a bit of force needed to activate them.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_27_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

As we inspected the PCB for residue, or anything out of the ordinary, we see that they do take their time to clean off the flux, and only random spots around the work has a little remnant of some of the flux, but nowhere near as bad as I have seen on other samples.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_28_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

The NXPLCP1752FBD80 is a Cortex ARM-3 MCU used with the Ryos. This is the main controller that is 32-bit, can run at 100MHz, is full speed USB 2.0, and also offers some built-in memory for storing Macros and such.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_29_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

To the top of the NXP controller, there is the WXIC 25L1605E BIOS IC that allows room for the basic programming and functionality of this keyboard. To the right is the LPC1111F Arm Cortex-MO controller. While based on 32-bit architecture, this chip is really designed for 16-bit or 8-bit applications.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_30_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

Near the top we also find the audio connections, and the PCB is at the left. This seems easily fixable if things were to go wrong, and even has a detachable cable, so removing and fixing this PCB would be no problem at all either.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_31_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

At the right, near the top, we also find another smaller blue PCB that allows for the USB hub functionality, and it uses the Cypress CY765742 low-power USB 2.0 TetraHub controller to allow for low latencies, and stable connections to the devices plugged into it.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_32_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

After reassembly, we always like to power things up, and make sure we got everything together correctly. Once we powered the Ryos MK Pro, we found that the M-Keys, The F-Keys, the WASD keys and the arrow keys are all now illuminated with bright blue LEDs. Keep in mind, we could not get images of every lighting function that this is capable of, think of this as just the jumping off point into a bunch of cool ways to illuminate the Ryos MK Pro.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases