TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,157 Reviews & Articles | 39,563 News Posts

ROCCAT Ryos MK Pro Mechanical Gaming Keyboard with Per-Key Illumination Review - Ryos MK Pro Continued

ROCCAT Ryos MK Pro Mechanical Gaming Keyboard with Per-Key Illumination Review
The Ryos MK Pro has been anticipated since CES 2013, and we finally get a look at what has to be the features king of mechanical keyboards.
| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Feb 11, 2014 3:00 am
TweakTown Rating: 98%Manufacturer: ROCCAT

Ryos MK Pro Continued

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_16_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

We made sure that we have the switches that the box showed us; we do in fact have Cherry MX brown switches under all but the Thumbster keys on this keyboard.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_17_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

The key caps first cast in white to allow the LED light behind them to shine through. The keys are also cast in black on the outside, and allow the legends to show through the top.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_18_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

The right side of the keyboard is sitting at a bit more of an incline since we have extended the feet at the back of the keyboard for this shot. In the same location, we found the audio connections on the opposite side; we now are given a 2-port USB 2.0 hub to connect other devices here, and keep the wiring mess down on the desktop.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_19_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

Dead center in the back of the keyboard, a thick braided cable is found for connectivity. This is currently bundled with the Velcro strap supplied by ROCCAT; while offering two USB 2.0 connections and the pair of 3.5mm audio jacks, when unfolded we have 1.8 meters of length to connect the Ryos MK Pro.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_20_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

In this image I want to discuss the many ways you can run wiring under the keyboard. After connecting to the hub, for say a mouse, you can run along the back and into one of the grooves, and then simply pick the best route of six available options for it to run through.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_21_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

At the front there is a large foot like this one at either side, which would make the Ryos stick to almost any surface. They have also run a thin rubber strip under the wrist rest, and since this is where most of the weight will be, it will definitely keep this keyboard situated in one location, and it won't move back while gaming.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_22_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

The back also offers a pair of large rubber feet, one at either side, but something that only a few manufacturers do, is to also add rubber to the tips of the adjustable feet so that while even having a smaller foot print, it will still grab and keep the keyboard situated where you put it.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases