TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,012 Reviews & Articles | 38,781 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

ROCCAT Ryos MK Pro Mechanical Gaming Keyboard with Per-Key Illumination Review - ROCCAT Ryos MK Pro Mechanical Gaming Keyboard

ROCCAT Ryos MK Pro Mechanical Gaming Keyboard with Per-Key Illumination Review
The Ryos MK Pro has been anticipated since CES 2013, and we finally get a look at what has to be the features king of mechanical keyboards.
| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Feb 11, 2014 3:00 am
TweakTown Rating: 98%Manufacturer: ROCCAT

ROCCAT Ryos MK Pro Mechanical Gaming Keyboard

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_08_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

Fresh out of the box, we are dealing with a large keyboard with the full number pad to the right, the Macro keys at the left, and the built-in wrist rest. From this far away, it seems that the entire keyboard has all textured plastic components, but there is a mix of things going on to spruce up its looks beyond the angular design and shape.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_09_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

Looking at the left side the keyboard, it is easy to see that the top half of the keyboard is wider than its lower section to allow for an easy grip. Also, at the back edge, where it angles from the side to the back edge, there are two 3.5mm jacks for headphones and a microphone to be attached here.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_10_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

The left edge of the keyboard offers 5 M-keys for setting up Macros. We can also see, since we are so close now, the micro-dot design that offers a fair bit of gloss effect, but keeps the oil and dust deposited here from looking so bad in the long term.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_11_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

Moving over a fair bit, we see the basic 72-key U.S. layout of the keys, and three Thumbster buttons under the space bar. We should also point out that the F-keys do also offer dual functionality as multimedia keys, as well as lighting controls, and Macro recording.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_12_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

Each key cap is cylindrical in shape where the keys curve from side to side, but even over the entire height of the key cap. They are also only slightly textured, and feel very smooth to the fingers.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_13_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

Since ROCCAT keyboards have that Thumbster key bump that they have to deal with, it seems logical to offer a built-in wrist rest to surround it, and offer customers a much more comfortable angle of attack on the keys. They also use this area for a large logo and the company name to sit between your hands.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_14_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

Above the number pad, you are given the keyboard naming; unfortunately this does not light up with the rest of the keyboard.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6063_15_roccat_ryos_mk_pro_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_with_per_key_illumination_review.jpg

 

The number pad offers the 30-key layout we are used to finding. At the left, in the middle, is where the lock indicator LEDs are located, and another thing is that the number pad is geared to be used for movement as well.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases