TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,142 Reviews & Articles | 39,485 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

GIGABYTE G1.Sniper Z87 (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review - The Gamer's Choice? - BIOS

GIGABYTE G1.Sniper Z87 (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review - The Gamer's Choice?
We get our first taste of the G1.Sniper from GIGABYTE. Let's see what this Intel Z87 based motherboard is capable of doing in our tests. (TPE:2376)
| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Feb 6, 2014 8:26 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

BIOS

 

Heading into the BIOS, you can see (like we've seen from other recent reviews) we've got the HD version of the updated UEFI BIOS. Compared to the other two GIGABYTE motherboards we've looked at, the color scheme is different as it represents the particular board.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_16_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_17_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

In this case we've got a green color set, which goes with the G1 Killer line. As always, if you're going to head into the BIOS, chances are you'll be hanging around the Home and Performance section, which brings with it all of our overclocking options.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_18_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_19_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_20_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_21_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_22_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

Moving away from the two main areas you'll probably find yourself spending time in, you can see all of the standard options are on offer as we move throughout the other tabs. We won't go into any more detail because thanks to the images above, we get a great idea of just what exactly is on offer.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_23_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

If you're not a fan of the new BIOS design, you can press F2 and head into the more classic mode. As we've mentioned in the last few reviews though, the latest version of the UEFI BIOS from GIGABYTE is really fantastic, and we find ourselves doing all of our overclocking in the default mode these days. The fact that you can also run it in HD is an added bonus.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases