TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,202 Reviews & Articles | 40,045 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

GIGABYTE G1.Sniper Z87 (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review - The Gamer's Choice? - GIGABYTE G1.Sniper Z87 Motherboard

GIGABYTE G1.Sniper Z87 (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review - The Gamer's Choice?
We get our first taste of the G1.Sniper from GIGABYTE. Let's see what this Intel Z87 based motherboard is capable of doing in our tests. (TPE:2376)
| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Feb 6, 2014 8:26 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

GIGABYTE G1.Sniper Z87 Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_06_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the board for the first time, you can see the Matte Black PCB, which we think always looks fantastic, along with green and black highlights throughout the board. Let's move in a bit closer though, to see just what exactly we're dealing with here today.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_07_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the expansion side of things, you can see we've got two older legacy PCI slots, along with three PCIe x1 slots, and two PCIe x16 slots. If just the top x16 slot is used, then your video card will be of course running at x16. If you opt for SLI or CrossFire, then both cards will instead run at x8.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_08_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_09_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Staying around the expansion slot area, we can take a closer look at the audio features that are offered here. Towards the bottom corner of the board you can see our Sound Core 3D chip, which has Gold Plated Shielding. Heading slightly higher, you can see our onboard AMP, which is interchangeable, and next to that you can see two Gain Switches. If you want to learn more about the AMP-UP technology, which really impressed us, then we highly recommend that you look at our preview of the technology.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_10_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving to the bottom of the board, it's a fairly standard affair down here. We've got the normal line up of fan and system headers, along with our main front panel one in the right corner.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_11_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Turning the corner, you can see we've got six SATA ports. All six are SATA III 6GB/s ports, and run off the Intel Z87 chipset. You can see in this case GIGABYTE has opted to leave off any extra SATA ports. Considering the focus of the motherboard being gaming, the inclusion of just the six parts all running off of the Intel chipset should be more than enough for anyone.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_12_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading to the top of the board, you can see our four DIMM slots, which support up to 32 GB of DDR3 with speeds ranging from 1333MHz DDR to 3000MHz DDR via overclocking. Here you can also see our main 24 Pin ATX power connector alongside a USB 3.0 header to the left. On the right side, you can see a large power switch, LED Debug reader, and a pair of buttons that clear the CMOS and reset the system.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_13_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_14_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the CPU area, you can see we've got a very clean setup with a simple, but nice looking heat sink design. You can see our Black Solid Capacitors around the CPU area, and in the usual corner we've got our 8-Pin CPU power connector.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6058_15_gigabyte_g1_sniper_z87_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

We finally finish up with our I/O side of things, which is actually fairly basic from connector side of things. We've got a pair of USB 2.0 ports above our Combo PS2 port. We've got a bunch of gold plated connectors, which we mentioned earlier, including Coaxial, HDMI, DisplayPort, USB Low Noise Power Digital to Analog Convertor, along with five auxiliary jacks on the far right. Here we've also got a Optical port, which sits to the right of four USB 3.0 ports, and a single Gigabit Networking port, which as we mentioned before runs off of the Killer E2200 chip.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases