TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,979 Reviews & Articles | 38,637 News Posts

Toshiba Q Series Pro 256GB SSD Review - Offers Great Value - Toshiba Q Series Pro 256GB SSD

Toshiba Q Series Pro 256GB SSD Review - Offers Great Value

Toshiba just finished the acquisition of OCZ Technology, but they also make their own based on Marvell hardware. Today Chris looks at one of them. (TYO:6502)

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Feb 8, 2014 10:08 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Toshiba

Toshiba Q Series Pro 256GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_03_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

This is the first time we've tested a Toshiba SSD with a retail package, and all of the accessories. The Toshiba package gives us some information on the front, including performance data.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_04_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_05_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

Inside, we found the drive in a bubble package, a quick install guide, and a 7mm to 9.5mm adapter plate.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_06_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

The bubble pack adds a nice touch, and secures the drive in the box really well.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_07_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Q Series Pro in 2.5" form factor. There really isn't much to the retail drive, at least not on the outside.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_08_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_09_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_10_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

All of the mounting points and the SATA power and data connectors are where they should be.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_11_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

Inside, we found a similar configuration to the THNSNH drive. Toshiba used a controller, and eight NAND flash packages. The controller and the flash all have thermal pads to push heat away from the package and into the drive's case. Note the lack of a DRAM buffer.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_12_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

All of the surface mount components are on the primary side.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_13_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Toshiba controller used in the Q Series Pro 256GB. The thermal pad makes it difficult to read all of the markings.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_14_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

It shouldn't be a surprise to find Toshiba NAND flash on the drive. Toshiba used 19nm flash with four die per package.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases