TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,203 Reviews & Articles | 40,051 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

Toshiba Q Series Pro 256GB SSD Review - Offers Great Value - Toshiba Q Series Pro 256GB SSD

Toshiba Q Series Pro 256GB SSD Review - Offers Great Value
Toshiba just finished the acquisition of OCZ Technology, but they also make their own based on Marvell hardware. Today Chris looks at one of them. (TYO:6502)
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Feb 8, 2014 10:08 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Toshiba

Toshiba Q Series Pro 256GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_03_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

This is the first time we've tested a Toshiba SSD with a retail package, and all of the accessories. The Toshiba package gives us some information on the front, including performance data.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_04_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_05_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

Inside, we found the drive in a bubble package, a quick install guide, and a 7mm to 9.5mm adapter plate.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_06_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

The bubble pack adds a nice touch, and secures the drive in the box really well.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_07_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Q Series Pro in 2.5" form factor. There really isn't much to the retail drive, at least not on the outside.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_08_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_09_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_10_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

All of the mounting points and the SATA power and data connectors are where they should be.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_11_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

Inside, we found a similar configuration to the THNSNH drive. Toshiba used a controller, and eight NAND flash packages. The controller and the flash all have thermal pads to push heat away from the package and into the drive's case. Note the lack of a DRAM buffer.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_12_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

All of the surface mount components are on the primary side.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_13_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Toshiba controller used in the Q Series Pro 256GB. The thermal pad makes it difficult to read all of the markings.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6057_14_toshiba_q_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review_offers_great_value.jpg

 

It shouldn't be a surprise to find Toshiba NAND flash on the drive. Toshiba used 19nm flash with four die per package.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases